Learning from my mistakes

Sure enough, the weekend was as challenging as I expected it to be. It started when we went out to dinner on Friday. We were starving and had no idea where to go–a dangerous combination. We drove to a place where I knew I could get lettuce wraps, but the wait was over an hour. We tossed out a few ideas and then Jon requested Red Lobster–home of the endless shrimp. I agreed because I know he loves it, but I knew it would be a disaster between the cheddar biscuits, the butter, the salt, etc. (And all those calories and fat grams wasted on a mass-produced chain restaurant when our local restaurants have amazing fish dishes…ugh.) We set off on our merry way and then realized we’d be passing a Japanese restaurant we’ve been meaning to try forever. We instantly changed plans and went to Bento, where I had grilled teryaki chicken, steamed rice and a side salad. I’m sure the salt content was atrocious, but aside from that, it was a good choice. I weighed myself the next morning and I’d dropped a pound, so all in all, it was a big success.

And, then, Saturday came. After a long morning that included two vet appointments–one regularly scheduled appointment for vaccinations and an unplanned visit 30 minutes later when our sweet dog ripped her dew claw and started bleeding–we were ready to relax and have some fun. When our friends called and invited us to an apple orchard, we jumped at the opportunity. Not only would it be fun, but it would be a great opportunity to walk around the orchard and have some healthy snacks.

Ha!

By the time we left, I’d consumed a cinnamon sugar doughnut, a sample of a cider shake, a few sips of hot apple cider, a pickle and two kinds of cheeses (beer cheddar and garlic cheddar…YUM). As if that weren’t enough, a few hours later, I ordered a burger and fries from Culver’s.

Let’s just say I learned from my mistakes. After several days of healthy, low-point eating, my body was shocked to the core (apple pun!) by my high-calorie love fest. That overstuffed, greasy feeling is not something I want to repeat. You truly are what you eat. When you eat healthy, nutritious foods, you feel healthy and vibrant. When you eat crap, you feel like crap. You’d think I’d have learned all this by now.

Today, I am trying to make up for yesterday. I spent some time at the gym this morning and we’ll be taking the dogs on another walk tonight. The important thing is not to let one bad day get the best of me like I’ve done in the past. I may have made mistakes, but it’s one day out of the rest of my life. I’m not going to give up on a healthier future because of one unhealthy day.

And on the bright side? I don’t need to worry about choosing healthy snacks for the foreseeable future. I have about a million apples waiting for me downstairs.

Anyone else have challenges this weekend? Or advice on yummy restaurants with healthy options? I could definitely use it!

Quote: “Every mistake is a lesson and every opportunity is a blessing.” ~Cristina D. Baines

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning from my mistakes

  1. Betsie says:

    “The important thing is not to let one bad day get the best of me like I’ve done in the past. I may have made mistakes, but it’s one day out of the rest of my life. I’m not going to give up on a healthier future because of one unhealthy day.”

    I think that’s really, really important and insightful. :)

  2. Melissa says:

    “Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it.” ~Anne Shirley. :)

  3. kristikess says:

    I used to wish she existed in real life so we could be “kindred spirits.” Sadly, I am more like boring Diana at times.

Leave a Reply

