Seize the summer

I’ve been fretting all summer about how quickly it’s racing by and worrying that I haven’t taken advantage of it to the fullest. So this weekend, I looked through the paper for some fun ideas and found one I knew my husband would love: a tour of World War II airplanes at a local airport!

It was a lot of fun and totally different from our typical weekend activities. We got to go up in the planes, which was quite an experience for this claustrophobe.

It was 90 degrees, the planes are made of metal, and there were long lines of people ahead of us who took FOREVER to go through because they kept taking pictures. Kristen trapped in a hot, cramped plane with no clear exit route=on the verge of panic attack. Fortunately, I composed myself and had fun anyway.

Afterward, we decided to go out for a late lunch and wanted to go somewhere new. We ended up at the Yardhouse at the Glen, and I had a grilled cheese sandwich with tomato bisque and sweet potato fries. Yum! (Can you tell this whole healthy eating thing is still a work in progress?)

When we got back, I decided to make a list of a few more activities I want to make sure we do before the summer slips away and becomes a memory:

1. Take a trip to my parents’ cabin in northern Wisconsin (scheduled for early August–can’t wait!)

2. Go to the Farmer’s Market and buy some fresh tomatoes and a great cheese.

3. Take the dogs for a walk in the forest preserve.

4. Ride a Ferris wheel at a local festival or downtown at Navy Pier.

5. Have a fire in the backyard.

6. Play softball with my family at the local park.

7. Go to the botanic gardens.

8. Go to our favorite local restaurant that overlooks a lake on a night when they have a live band (possible activity for our fifth anniversary next weekend!).

9. Go to a drive-in movie.

10. Go on a picnic.

The best part about making this list was that it made me remember all the great times we have had this summer and helped me realize we haven’t wasted it at all. In fact, right after I wrote number 10, I remembered that we HAD a picnic just two weeks ago! We went to an outdoor concert with my mom and my best friend and her dad and kids, and we had a great little picnic while listening to tropical music.

We’ve also gone to a Cubs game, Disney World, Universal Studios, swimming (at Jon’s parents’ gorgeous pool), a beachside wedding, tons of barbecues and more. I went to a great bachelorette party on a boat and went shopping at an outdoor outlet mall, and Jon went on a fishing trip with my dad. And the best part: we installed a new fence, making our own backyard a fun getaway for us and our dogs.

In other words, it’s been a pretty great summer.

If yours is flying by, like mine, take a few minutes to savor the fun times you’ve had, and then write down a few can’t-miss activities to do in the next 30 days. Don’t let another day pass you by! Make the most of summer 2011–starting this minute.

 

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seize the summer

  1. Rachel says:

    I love the pic of your doggie hanging out in the pool! :) That totally says summer to me!

  2. Pingback: Seizing the Summer | The Simple Spirit

  3. Valerie says:

    Let me know if you want to do a farmers’ market together – I am the queen of that shit.

    Also, if you’re interested in learning how to can or preserve this summer, we can do that, too!

Leave a Reply

