30

Wasn’t I just at TGI Fridays with my boyfriend and 15 closest friends celebrating my 21st birthday with an electric lemonade and coffee filters in my hair? Could that really have been nine years ago?!

Wasn’t I just 24 years old and walking down the aisle toward a new life with the sweet, funny guy waiting for me at the altar? Has it already been six years?!

Time flies when you’re having fun. And somehow time flew so swiftly that I went from 24 to 30 in about five minutes. And that’s really the only thing that gives me pause about this milestone.

30? Yeah, I can handle that. In fact, I think I’m just coming into my own. I have no doubt that I’ll love my 30s every bit as much as my 20s–and maybe more because I’m not as shy and inhibited as I was then. Some people settle down at 30. I’ve been settled down forever–I’m ready to take some (not-too-crazy) risks. Bring on the new decade!

But I’m THIRTY. In such a brief, slippery sliver of time, three decades have passed. Life is good–can’t it just slow down a little?!

I’m told that when I have kids, it will go by even faster. I need to make sure I take time each day to do something special and take a few minutes to consciously appreciate the day. Because the day will soon be a month and then a year and then a decade.

This week, I’ve done my very best to usher out my 20s in style–from tailgating at a Jimmy Buffett concert to taking a few days off work and spending some time in the city with my mom and at home with my husband and two pups. Tomorrow I’ll start my 30s by renting a pontoon boat with my husband and friends.

Do I wish I’d have done a few things differently? Yes. I should have studied abroad and lived in the city. And yet, truly, I have no big complaints. I’m happy and I love and am loved–and what more could I ask for?

In looking at my regrets, I realized that the adage about only regretting the things we DON’T do rings very true. This decade, I’m going to break out of my shell a bit more. I’m going to DO, instead of just watch or dream. 

I stood in the corner in my 20s. Now it’s time to get on the dance floor. I may not dance very well–but I can only get better if I practice.  

30, you arrived sooner than I thought you would. But, please, stay awhile. Don’t leave too soon. We’re going to have some fun together. 

 

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30

  1. thejackpot says:

    Happy Birthday! Wonderful to embrace this new decade :)

Leave a Reply

