30 before 30: An update

In November 2010, I made a list of 30 things I wanted to do before I hit 30. Now that the big day has passed, I have to confess that I did fewer than a third of them. Oops?

The good news is that I visited two new states (in fact, I visited three):

Arkansas:

Missouri:

South Carolina:

I also ran two miles. I ran a 5K twice, actually. And the first one was probably the proudest moment of my life:

Here’s the sad one. I did lose 40 pounds. Actually, I lost 50. And proceeded to gain 40 back. I am so sad and disappointed in myself–but I am also determined to get back there. Here I am with my personal trainer on the celebration night after my weight loss contest:

I tailgated at a Jimmy Buffett concert:

And I also got promoted and was published under my own name (as a guest blogger on Super Suburbs and the Faithful City Mouse).

I could focus on what I didn’t do, but why? There’s plenty of time for that in the future. Which leads me to wonder…maybe I need a 35 before 35? :)

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 before 30: An update

  1. I struggle to lose weight for years. but never committed until one day I checked my BMI and shocked to know that I am Obese Class I. That’s really a wake up call for me to lose weight. And thinking about to add the number of our family member, I must lose the extra weight first. i don’t want to be super obese when I get pregnant soon. I decided to start over a 40 days water fasting after a not-very-successful 15 days water fasting last time. I want to do this because I want to make a kick start on a new healthy eating plan. Please wish me luck. All the best to you too!
    My blog: http://healthybeautifulblog.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

