Celebrating Banned Books Week

The American Library Association’s Banned Books Week begins tomorrow. As a former English major, this subject is near and dear to my heart. In my opinion, the banned books are usually the ones most worth reading. Consider some of the books frequently on the list: To Kill a Mockingbird, The Awakening, Huckleberry Finn, Gone With the Wind, Animal Farm, 1984, The Color Purple, and Grapes of Wrath.

Consider picking up one of these novels this week as a protest against banning or restricting books. And if you have another frequently banned book to recommend, add a comment below. I’m always looking for new reading material!

Quote: “Intellectual freedom—the freedom to access information and express ideas, even if the information and ideas might be considered unorthodox or unpopular—provides the foundation for Banned Books Week.  BBW stresses the importance of ensuring the availability of unorthodox or unpopular viewpoints for all who wish to read and access them.” ~ALA

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment