Hypnotized

A few months ago, I really felt like I’d hit my lowest point. I was sure I’d never be able to lose weight because I just didn’t possess the strength, the motivation or the willpower to get through 100 pounds of weight loss–and then keep it off for the next (hopefully!) 60 years.

At that point, I was willing to try anything. And, so, I ordered a weight loss hypnosis tape.

The first time I listened to it, I couldn’t stop giggling at the hilariously soothing voice. But then, my mindset completely shifted. This 15 minutes of pure solitude and peace became such a gift. I used to spend a lot of time journaling or daydreaming, just focusing on my goals and dreams. But lately, I’m more likely to talk on the cell phone when I’m driving (I know, I know), or do another chore around the house instead of taking time to dream. To sit in one place and completely focus on my intentions, with no distractions or interruptions, was priceless. At this point, I still didn’t really believe it would work, but I didn’t care. I planned to keep doing it just for the 15 minutes of peace.

And, then, I noticed slight changes in my behavior. I had been struggling to give up caffeine, due to recently diagnosed caffeine-induced anxiety, but I’d still sneak the occasional diet coke. However, shortly after starting the hypnosis take, I gave up caffeine entirely–and easily. (The tape suggests that water will completely satisfy you.) And, when we were ordering at a pizza place, I found myself complaining that there were no healthy side vegetables I could order. To know me is to know that I never crave veggies. But just a few days into the tape, I was seeking them at every meal. (The tape suggests that you will crave vegetables.)

Now, I’m sure this is the power of suggestion more than anything. After all, when you hear “you will crave veggies” seven to 14 times in a week, whether under hypnosis or not, you are going to be thinking more about vegetables. But that’s fine with me. I don’t care if it’s hypnosis or the placebo effect–it works!

A caveat: it works when you do it consistently. I went on vacation and got out of habit of using the tapes. I still drink only water, but I’ve lost my craving for healthy foods. Starting today, I’m popping the hypnosis tapes in again. It will get my mind focused on the right things and I’ll get to experience the relaxed solitude that I loved so much. I’ll share the results soon!

If you’re interested in checking out the DVD I ordered, it’s $119 for four CDs and you can find it here. Have you tried hypnosis for weight loss or other issues? What were your results?

Quote: “The first rule of focus is this: Wherever you are, be there.” ~Unkown. Source: www.motivational-inspirational-corner.com

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

