My weight loss top 20 (to my future self: read this when you are struggling)

Since I’ll be officially (re)starting Weight Watchers tomorrow, I thought it might be good to put in writing the myriad reasons I want to lose weight. Then, whenever my willpower is lagging and I’m questioning why I’m even trying when I’ve failed every time before, I’ll have a concrete list to refer to, as a reminder of exactly why this is worth it. And why *I* am worth it.

So, without further ado and in no particular order, I want to lose weight:

1. So I can fit comfortably in an airplane seat and not feel like I have to apologize profusely to the poor soul forced to sit next to me

2. So I can ride all the roller-coasters in the world with no worries as to whether I’ll need a seatbelt extender (I’ve never needed one, but I did need to sit in one of the larger-size rows on The Hulk in Universal Studios Islands of Adventure. To this day, I break out in cold sweats thinking about it.)

3. So I can go clothes shopping and buy outfits simply because I think they’re gorgeous–not because they’re the few items in the store that flatter me. (Seriously, how do thin people not go broke? I’d buy EVERYTHING if it fit me.)

4. So I can “match” the rest of my family. My brothers and cousins are all amazingly attractive. If I could lose the weight, I feel like I’d fit in better.

5. So I don’t feel the need to make fun of my own weight before someone else gets the chance to judge me based on it

6. So I can love all the pictures I take the time to scrapbook—and not worry about holding my purse in front of my stomach or cropping off the tummy bulge

7. So I can feel pretty. I wonder what that’s like.

8. To improve my health

9. To be able to have kids

10. To be so proud of what I have accomplished

11. So I can take multiple flights of stairs without getting winded

12. So running a mile doesn’t sound almost as impossible as running a marathon

13. To prolong my life so I can enjoy every minute with my husband, family and friends

14. For professional advancement (my company has never judged me on my weight, but I’d be terrified to interview elsewhere because we’ve all seen the 20/20 specials where the fat girls don’t get the job, despite evenly matched qualifications)

15. To feel like I have control over food, not vice versa

16. So I can stop comparing all the Biggest Loser contestants’ weights to my own

17. To look on the outside how I feel on the inside

18. To feel more confident in social settings

19. To play sports without feeling like a fish out of water

20. To have more energy!

So, there you have it. Just a sampling of the many reasons it’s finaly time to do this. What items are on your list?

Quote: When the world says, “Give up,” Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.” ~Author Unknown. Source: www.quotegarden.com

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My weight loss top 20 (to my future self: read this when you are struggling)

  1. Betsie says:

    #5 made me sad. I love you no matter what! 🙂 For what it’s worth, I’m not capable of running a mile either!

  2. Melissa says:

    Want to run the Disney half-marathon with me in 2012?? 🙂

    I’m printing this out for myself to keep. It’s a mirror of everything I need to tell myself also. Thank you!

  3. kristikess says:

    My poor knee couldn’t take the 5K I tried to do this year, so a half-marathon may not be the best idea! I’d love to go and cheer you on, though!

  4. Melissa says:

    I just found your blog and I am in love. With the exception of number 14, your top 20 is my top 20. I love to travel, but I’ve found more and more reasons to go on road trips instead of flying to Ireland the way I used simply because the entire plane ride is humiliating. I don’t want to feel like I need to apologize to someone simply because they had the misfortune of sitting beside me. I’m pretty sure I’m going to read your entire blog tonight, and I can’t wait to read the rest of your story. Is it weird if I say you’re going to be my new best imaginary friend?

  5. Kristen K says:

    Melissa, your comment made my day! The more best imaginary friends, the better. 🙂 Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

