Weight Watchers and Me: Happily Ever After?

Weight Watchers and I go back about seven years. We were first introduced when I was 21 years old and eager to please. Upon our first date, I was hooked and willing to do whatever it took to make our relationship work. I hung on WW’s every word and threw myself into making things go smoothly. I never missed our weekly date. Our bond flourished and I had never looked or felt better.

And, then, as is often the case in young love, I grew bored. WW had given me what I needed–45 pounds gone–and I saw no reason to pay attention anymore. Our dates slowed down to biweekly and then monthly. I never called or wrote. Infatuation turned into resentment. And that was the death knell of the relationship. We parted ways and didn’t bother to keep in touch.

After our breakup, the weight flew back on. I gained back the 45 and then some. Eventually, I got lonely and began to miss WW, so I paid a visit. A few more lackluster dates, and we lost touch again. This on-again/off-again relationship continued for years. Neither one of us was satisfied. It apparently wasn’t meant to be.

And, then, I grew up and found the maturity needed to sustain a relationship. WW and I had our last first date this week. I think this time it’s going to stick. We missed each other, and we’re a really good fit together.

WW and I shared some big secrets in the past–my weight, for instance. But we’ve decided secrets aren’t our thing anymore. And so, I’ll confess to you what I confessed to WW on Wednesday night. My name is Kristen, and I am very overweight: 263.8 pounds.

Fortunately, WW sticks with me despite my considerable fluff–and I hope you will, too. I have never confessed my weight to anyone before, and it’s nothing short of terrifying to do so now. But if I really want to make a change, I need to hold myself accountable for my current state and my future state. Here’s hoping I have a lot smaller number to report in the near future and much-improved pictures to share (see unfortunate before pics below)!

And here’s hoping that I have the strength to keep up my end of the relationship. After being kicked to the curb so many times–perhaps 10?–it’s a miracle WW is still willing to put up with me.

Quote: “Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart.” ~Confucius

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight Watchers and Me: Happily Ever After?

  1. Melissa says:

    I love how you write. 🙂 Missed you last week at the meeting.

  2. kristikess says:

    I’ll be there this Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

