“But it’s a special occasion!”

I’ve determined that my latest downfall is claiming “special occasion” as a reason for eating far too many calories.

The problem is that “special occasions” occur about four times per week, making them more of a commonplace occasion. Let’s examine this week, for instance. We had a farewell lunch for a coworker, I had a girls’ night out at a sports bar with my mom, a girls’ day out lunch with my mom and a birthday dinner out with friends.

While all of those events are important to me, they cannot be treated as special occasions when it comes to food. None of the events involved a new restaurant that I hadn’t been to before, and going out was not unique, since I did it multiple times in just seven days.

Going forward, for something to qualify as a special occasion that lets me go a bit overboard, it needs to be brand-new or really infrequent. A five-star dinner downtown? Special occasion. Brother’s birthday dinner at the family’s favorite restaurant? Just another fun night out–stick with the program.

This is easier said than done for me. When I hear my friends or family ordering juicy burgers or hearty pastas or cheesy pizzas, it makes me so resentful that I can’t do the same thing and look like them. It just does not seem fair. But life’s not fair, and if I want to be thin and healthy, a change must be made.

Quote: “Life’s ups and downs provide windows of opportunity to determine your values and goals. Think of using all obstacles as stepping stones to build the life you want.” ~Marsha Sinetar

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

