Mantras

We’ve all heard the following weight loss mantra, am I right?

Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels.

If you’ve joined Weight Watchers more than seven times, as I have, you’ve heard it ad nauseam. So, I decided to see if it worked if I used it religiously, repeating it to myself as often as necessary. Let’s see how that went.

Early morning:

Deliberate between a bagel and cream cheese and Total with a banana. Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels. Nodding resolutely, I grab the cereal box.

Late morning:

Notice a big plate of goodies left over from a meeting at work. The platter includes doughnuts, bagels and fresh fruit. I stare longingly at a pastry. Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels. With a resigned sigh, I grab some pineapple.

Lunch time:

Coworkers invite me out to eat, and I happily accept to escape the four walls of my cube. I peruse the menu and glance longingly at the fettucini alfredo entry. Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels. God, I hate losing weight. Screw the salad, I’ll compromise: whole wheat pasta with marinara sauce and fresh mozzarella. And some bread, while I’m at it. Okay, I’ll take another piece.

Dinner:

Jon suggests beef sandwiches from a local hot dog stand. I have food on hand for grilled chicken wraps. Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels. What a crock of crap! I have no idea what it feels like to be skinny, but I’m pretty damn happy right now, thankyouverymuch. Beef sandwiches, it is!

In a nutshell, that particular mantra is not my cup of tea. In fact, I think it does more harm than good. I definitely need an alternative. Or, maybe I just need some positive self-talk, so “Go ahead, you’re always going to be a heifer–you may as well enjoy it” is not the most prevalent dialogue in my head. Any suggestions?

Quote: Insert anything–ANYTHING–except Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels here.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mantras

  1. Valerie says:

    It’s sort of similar to the mantra you mentioned, but I like “That cookie / cupcake / entire side of beef will not make you feel as good as you think it will.” You look at it, you think it will taste great, and maybe it will. But after a while of eating right, foods that are high in fat, salt, and sugar make me feel like shit.

  2. Beth (Mrs.Bones) says:

    I think that saying is CRAP! Skinny shouldn’t be the end-goal of eating well, getting in shape and having a healthy lifestyle. HEALTHY should be the end-goal. I don’t know how you could re-phrase that mantra, but you should find one that really speaks to you in the NOW.

Leave a Reply

