Bridesmaid bootcamp

In the post here, I described my recent bridesmaid dress shopping experience in which I ordered a size that I knew was too small–by one inch. Yesterday, I picked up the dress and tried it on, and it is, in fact, not too small by one inch. Oh, no. It is not even too small by two inches, which is what I estimated yesterday. I just donned the dress again, and it’s too small by at least three inches. As in the left side of the zipper is three inches away from the right at the widest part of my back.

And so we begin–a four-month crusade to bust the bulge, fight the flab, pulverize the pudge…you get the picture. I started with a fast-paced three miles on the elliptical today, and while I felt amazing afterward, I am dreading spending that much time in the gym every.single.day. Will I grow to love it? I can only hope.

The good news is that the dress was not extremely pricey, so I can buy a replacement in the absolute worst case scenario. But with Jon’s uncertain job situation and with a zillion and one expenses that came up in the last few weeks (busted car, tuition, books, etc.), the last thing I want to do is spend more money. Not to mention, that the larger dress is already too big on me. If I get halfway to my goal and lose 1.5 inches, I’ll be swimming in it and my choice will either be to drown in a dress or look like a stuffed sausage. In other words, I HAVE to do this.

Assuming I do shrink by three inches in the next 120 days, I will owe the bride and groom–my brother-in-law and future sister-in-law–my undying gratitude for inviting me to stand up in the wedding, inadvertently giving me some serious motivation.

Wish me luck! And please don’t invite me over for pizza in the next 120 days. It’s (one of) my (many, many) weakness(es). With lots of sweat, extreme dedication and gobs of luck, I will be wearing this in the size I’ve already ordered on May 14.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bridesmaid bootcamp

  1. Melissa says:

    You’re going to hate it and I can’t believe I’m suggesting it, but seriously – if you want to lose it fast, replace all of the icky grains, breads, pastas, etc. with a vegetable/fruit alternative. When I did this in college, the weight just MELTED off. Unbelievably. Gotta figure out how to make this work for a family… hmmm. Not no-carb, just low-carb. Like Formula/Zone/40-30-30. I’m working right now on making switches, like spaghetti squash for spaghetti noodles. Just made lasagna last night with EGGPLANT. OMG, so yummy!

  2. kristikess says:

    I was worried that I’d have to go this route. Kristen on South Beach Diet=major witch. But you’re right, I don’t have to totally give them up.

  3. 154lbs says:

    You can do it!

  4. Valerie says:

    You already know what I think about carb-watching. Keep a calorie diary, eat small dinners, and continue cooking for yourself and you’ll get there. If you go out to eat, only eat half and bring the rest home.

Leave a Reply

