I’m almost famous!

It looks like I completely neglected to mention that I submitted an application a few weeks ago for the Daily Herald/Push Fitness Fittest Loser contest. Well, guess what?

I’M A FINALIST!!!!

Final 15, to be exact. Interviews are next week and I should hear shortly thereafter since the contest starts late January or early February.

I am still having trouble believing it. When I read the e-mail, I started shrieking like I’d won the lottery. And, IF I get it, that’s truly how I’d feel. Getting my health and my life back (well, actually I’ve never been thin, so “back” doesn’t apply here) would be as incredible as hitting the jackpot.

The funny thing is that as an eight-year-old kid, I’d read the newspaper and every day and tell my parents that they’d see my name in the Daily Herald someday because I wanted to be a journalist more than anything. I didn’t become a journalist (I crossed over to the dark side–PR–instead), but maybe, just maybe, my parents WILL see my name in that paper.

(Never mind that they’d also be seeing my WEIGHT in the paper…)

I truly feel like I’m prepping for an interview for my dream job. Despite my shame at my weight and my slight fear of being pushed until I puke, a la Jillian Michaels, I SO want this. But I am promising to myself here and now that I will be a loser this year. If it’s the Fittest Loser, all the better. But I am committed to this and I’m making it happen.

Here’s a story about last year’s Fittest Loser winner, who lost 47 pounds in the 2010 contest. Pretty impressive for 12 weeks! And pretty freaking amazing that I could be 40+ pounds lighter about 14 weeks from now. At that rate, I’d not only fit in my bridesmaid dress, but have to buy a smaller one–and that’s just fine with me!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

