The elliptical: A musical journey

As I was on the elliptical today for 32.5 minutes (I’m very proud of those extra 2.5 minutes, darnit), I noticed that the music on my iPod served as a score of sorts for my moods.

Minutes 1-4. I am feeling GOOD. Euphoric! Pumped!

Damn, I got it all figured out,

I got no worries that I’m worried about

It’s like I caught some crazy-happy disease.

Damn, it feels good to be me!

Minutes 10-15. Okay, it’s getting harder. My feet are burning a bit. But I can DO this!

Now, it cuts like a knife.

But it feels so right.

Yeah, cuts like a knife.

Oh, but it feels damn right.

Minutes 22-26: Okay, WTH?! I just did the elliptical for 45 minutes a few days ago. It was fabulous! Why can’t I do this? I’m exhausted. I feel enormous. Make it END!

Them baggy sweatpants, and those Reeboks with the strap

She turned around and gave her big booty a smack

She hit the flo’, next thing you know

Shorty got low, low, low, low low*

*I have a slight hunch that Flo’rida and I interpret those lyrics a wee bit differently. Shorty probably was not tripping over her elliptical trying to catch her falling iPod and making a giant spectacle of herself at the gym.

Minutes 27-32: I’m almost DONE! I did it! I feel incredible! This is the beginning of something amazing!

I woke up this morning
With this feeling inside me that I can’t explain
like a weight that I’ve carried
been carried away, away
But I know something is coming
I don’t know what it is
But I know it’s amazing…
It feels like today I know
It feels like today I’m sure
It’s the one thing that’s missin’
The one thing I’m wishin’
Life’s sacred blessin’ and then
It feels like today
Feels like today

Songs in order:

“Good to Be Me,” Uncle Kracker

“Cuts Like a Knife,” Bryan Adams

“Low,” Flo’rida (WHY is this on my iPod?)

“Feels Like Today,” Rascal Flatts

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

