Final five!

I’m not sure how much I should share about the Fittest Loser since the Daily Herald should be the first place people find out about most of the news, but I think it’s safe to say that I MADE THE FINAL FIVE!

I could not believe my eyes when I received the e-mail. I immediately flew into my boss’s office and started shrieking. For the rest of the day, it was almost impossible to concentrate on leading conference calls and evaluating the progress of PR initiatives. All I could think was, “12 weeks from now, what will I weigh? How will I feel?!”

Well, that’s not quite ALL I thought. Other items on the list included:

  • Oh my goodness. My DAD is going to know what I weigh. My BOSS is going to know what I weigh. My cousins and grandparents and coworkers and THE ENTIRE METROPOLITAN AREA is going to know what I weigh!
  • Okay, but who am I kidding? It’s not like they’re going to say, “Wow! Kristen weighs 260 pounds?! I’m shocked. I would swear she was 125 by looking at her svelte figure.” 
  • Ooh crap, why did I tell them I’d choose Jillian if I made it on the Biggest Loser? Bob is so much nicer. And cuter. And has an adorable accent.
  • And, most of all, I AM THE LUCKIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD!

Because on top of this exciting news, I got some more this week. I can now cross one of the items off my 30 Before 30 list: I got promoted!

I look forward to sharing the highs and lows and the blood, sweat and tears over the next 12 weeks. I promise lots of photos, along with tips straight from the trainer!

I am so grateful to both the Daily Herald and Push Fitness for giving me a jumpstart on this journey. I feel so blessed and so ready to do this. Jonathan Swift once said, “May you live all the days of your life!” I am ready to do just that.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final five!

  1. Valerie says:

    Congrats on both!! You and Jon should come over to celebrate – I’ll make something healthy, I swear!

  2. jag says:

    Congrats! Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

