The cold, hard numbers

Today was the first step of the Fittest Loser contest–the “before” doctor visit. I tend to be a slight (or possibly major ) hypochondriac and my anxiety surges every time anything feels remotely “off” healthwise, so I was a little nervous.

Overall, the results were sobering. While I’m ashamed to share them, the accountability factor is exactly why I created this blog, so I’m going to just put the info out there. My blood sugar is 111, which is too high and dangerously close to pre-diabetes, if not already there. My blood pressure is 140/90–and that’s with some medication controlling it already. Weight is 261 and pulse rate is 79.

If I wasn’t already motivated to kick some A-Double-S in the contest, I sure am now. I have WAY too much to live for to let my health continue on this dangerous path. While the doctor was concerned about the numbers, he is confident that I can get them all within normal range by the end of these 12 weeks.

He also gave me some interesting insight into my digestive issues. For as long as I can remember, I have felt sick after nearly every dinner. More times than I can count, I’ve had to leave events early to rush home and use the washroom. It is humiliating and prevents me from doing a lot of things, like traveling with friends. I thought I might have lactose intolerance and took some lactaid before consuming dairy, but that didn’t help. According to the doctor, I may have been treating the wrong cause. He suspects a gluten allergy.

My reaction to this news surprised me. I thought I’d freak out at the idea of a low-gluten life. Instead, I’m thinking this could be the motivation I need to eat a Michael Pollan-esque diet: real food, not too much, mostly plants. The human body was not really designed for gluten and there’s very little nutritional benefit. If I can cut way back (giving up isn’t reasonable in my opinion–it would likely result in a gluten overdose i just a few short days), I will by default eat more lean meats, veggies and fruits. Not a bad thing, even if it turns out that I don’t have an allergy!

But that’s enough of my bleak health picture. Here is a more exciting number to round out the post: my humble blog hit 1,000 visits today! While that’s not exactly huge, it sort of stuns me because I created this site to be my personal journal. Who knew anyone would actually read it?

While I intended to end on that note, I want to take a second to urge you to go for a checkup if you haven’t had one in awhile. Aside from a good guess that the numbers would be bad due to my weight, I had no idea that I was in prediabetes range. For yourselves and your family, make your health a priority. That’s exactly what I will be doing for these 12 weeks and the rest of my life.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

