Project pantry

The Fittest Loser program officially begins tomorrow. I’ll be weighing in and–get this–doing a “light assessment” of my fitness abilities, including how fast I can RUN A MILE. This light assessment is going to be the toughest workout I’ve had since high school gym class. Let’s hope the creaky knee holds up and my sore throat improves!

Anyhoo, since tomorrow is the big day, I wanted to start off on the right foot…and with the right food. So, I decided to organize the pantry.

Now, this might not be a big project for most people. But most people had not last organized their pantry in summer and let it fall to shambles in the meantime, shoving food in every possible open space. Exhibit A:

I decided when I started this blog that I’d have no shame and would be an open book. And if I’m willing to declare my weight in the pages of a major metropolitan newspaper, than surely I can show you my hideously disorganized pantry. But if you see me in real life, pretend you’ve never seen this. 🙂

So, with that as our starting point, we knew we had quite a project ahead of us. Jon got out the stepstool and went shelf by shelf, handing me the old items to toss in the garbage or recycling bags. We filled one full bag of each. Holy moly. We also removed things that should not be in a pantry: a FURminator and a citronella candle, for instance. Don’t ask how they got there–I have no idea.

So, after revamping all five shelves, we are left with this:

I’m bummed at the poor-quality iPhone picture. It actually looks much cleaner in person. Shelf 1 is breakfast items and oils/spices/seasonings. Shelf 2 is carbs–pastas, rices, breads, chips and other grains. Shelf 3 is canned goods, lunch snacks and dog treats, and shelf 4 is baking items. Finally, shelf 5 is for storing larger items, like paper towels, extra gallons of water, etc.

With that task accomplished, I hit the grocery store to buy food for my new lifestyle. In previous grocery shops, we’d have tons of food to put in the pantry and freezer. This time, I focused heavily on produce and lean meats, and had only three items to put in the pantry: soup for Jon, raw almonds for me and canned pineapple in natural juices. Our fridge, on the other hand, is stuffed to bursting with lettuce, tomatoes, onions, grapes, carrots, cottage cheese and more. I feel healthier already!

Now let’s just hope I make it through that mile run.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

