Fittest Loser, days 1-3

My first meeting with my trainer took place on Monday. We did a “light assessment” to see how far I could run in 12 minutes (the answer: not very), and how many pushups and situps I could do in one minute (32 and 30, respectively). My numbers were even worse than they otherwise would have been due to a sore throat and hacking cough. It was not pretty!

Three days later, I am STILL sore from the running and pushups. This does not bode well for my actual workouts, but I’m eager to get started. This whole blizzard thing has kind of derailed those efforts, but I’m hoping to hit the gym tomorrow and get going.

Meanwhile, the food part of the contest has been interesting. It’s making me realize exactly how much processed food and junk I ate, which is good. But I’m also feeling a bit like a rabbit, with all the mixed greens, carrots and apples I’m consuming. All five contestants are headed to Whole Foods on Saturday to learn how to grocery shop, thank goodness. I’m getting a wee bit alarmed at the thought of subsisting on grlled chicken salads for the rest of my days, and I’m more than ready to learn about some variety.

In three days, I’ve only veered off plan one small time: I had one reduced fat chocolate chip cookie after work yesterday because I’d forgotten to prepare a healthy snack. On the plus side, I’ve abstained from ice cream when others were eating it, avoided the candy dish at a work meeting and haven’t made one single run to my coworker’s chocolate stash, which was a frequent habit of mine.

I’m a crazy mixture of enthusiastic and terrified, all at the same time. The Daily Herald reporter is calling me today and shooting video on Friday, and my workouts are about to get serious. I’m really scared that I won’t be able to handle it and that I’ll fail on a massive public stage. But the other half of me knows that, even if I don’t win or hit the huge numbers I want to hit, I’ll still be in a lot better place than I was.

Any tips for staving off the feelings of deprivation? I cried 24 hours in because I just felt so incapable of dealing with the temptations. Now, I’m doing a little better, but I know those feelings are going to come back.

Addendum: I forgot to list my official weight! (I may as well share, since it will be in the paper on Valentine’s Day.) It’s 262. This is 8 pounds down from my Weight Watchers weight on Christmas Eve and 21 down from my highest weight ever. Here’s hoping that Monday was the very last time I ever see the 260s on the scale!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fittest Loser, days 1-3

  1. Valerie says:

    Good for you! I love Whole Foods. While you explore gluten-free foods, try quinoa as a protein-heavy, gluten-free substitute for rice in pilafs, etc. You can find it in the bulk section in Whole Foods. Also, try Larabars as a healthy (although calorie-heavy) substitute for all that cookie and Twinkie crap I saw in your pantry in a previous post, haha. So proud of you for what you are doing, keep kicking ass!

  2. kristikess says:

    I plead guilty to the cookies, but the Twinkies are not mine! The good news is that I haven’t given up gluten because I’m feeling much better due to much less fat/grease/cream in my diet. But I definitely want to try quinoa!

Leave a Reply

