Stair Master

The title of this post does not refer to the machine at the gym. Nope. It refers to ME!

At the beginning of this competition, I told myself that I wanted to be able to climb the 10 flights of stairs to my office by the end of the 12 weeks. Well, guess what?

Today, during my second workout, I climbed TWENTY-FOUR flights of stairs. Who on earth would have ever believed that was possible? Certainly not me.

Typically, by floor five, I’m gasping and I feel my heart pounding out of my chest. That is when I stop and take the elevator. But with a trainer there pushing me (and holding my water and letting me rest every eight fights), I was able to really push my limits. I did eight flights up taking one step at a time, eight flights up taking two steps at a time, and eight flights up alternating between one and two steps every other flight. By the end, I was gasping. And I felt freaking amazing.

I hope I’ll be equally amazed (in a good way!) when I weigh in on Monday. I’m a little concerned because my home scale–which matched the gym scale on Monday–says I’ve dropped over three pounds. The gym scale, on the other hand, didn’t look like it was budging. I’m really hoping I read it wrong (it’s a doctor’s office-esque scale). I feel thinner, my pants already feel a little bigger, and I’m following the diet plan almost exactly (I had one reduced fat Chips Ahoy once.) I have two big workouts left this weekend, plus a day of cardio on my own, so I’m hoping for a good number on the scale.

And while we’re on the subject of amazingness, I had my two favorite meals so far today. One was the DELISH hot chicken and pasta salad at Egglectic Cafe, minus the pasta, parmesan cheese and caesar dressing. I used fat free sesame dressing instead (YUM!) and asked for extra broccoli in lieu of the pasta. It was incredibly satisfying. If only I could afford to eat lunch out every day for the duration of this competition! For dinner, I sauteed some garlic, onions and diced tomatoes in olive oil and served it over grilled chicken with a spinach salad. It was my favorite meal at home so far. All in all, a great day!

Here’s hoping my enthusiasm keeps up over the next several weeks! There are moments I feel incredible and moments I feel like I’m in way over my head. I hope that’s normal. When things get tough, I’m going to remind myself of how I felt reaching flight 24 (well, the eighth floor for the third time) and remember that this is all worth it.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stair Master

  1. Melissa says:

    Go you!

Leave a Reply

