Meal plan

I’ve been promising people that I’d share the meal plan I’m on, so here goes.

I am on the 1,600-calorie version, which looks like this:

Breakfast: 1 protein, 1 fat, 1 starch (meal example: 1/2 c cottage cheese and an apple with peanut butter)

Snack: 1 protein, 1 fat, 1 fruit (example: hard-boiled egg, raw nuts and grapes)

Lunch: 1 protein, 1 fat, 1 starch, 2 veg (example: grilled chicken salad w/dressing and one slice of whole-grain toast)

Snack: 1 protein, 1 fat, 1 fruit (see previous snack example)

Dinner: 2 protein, 1 fat, 2 veg (example: 8 oz. chicken w/diced tomato and olive oil drizzled on top, side salad)

The 1,400-calorie version differs only at dinner, with one less protein. The 1.800-calorie edition includes an extra fat at breakfast and dinner.

You’ll note that there are no starches at dinner. This is the very hardest thing about the plan for me. Sometimes I just want a side of rice or a tortillas with my tacos, darnit. But so far, I’ve stuck to the dinner rules 100%.

All in all, this plan makes me yearn for Weight Watchers, where I could have a slice of pizza as long as I planned for it. (Pizza, oh, how I miss you. I covered my eyes when I saw you on a commercial. It was too painful to watch.) This plan has no room for splurges. Zilch. Zippo. Nada. But what I like about this plan is that I’ve not really been counting calories. As long as I stick to the approved foods and meet these protein/fat/starch guidelines, I know I’m within the zone. Not having to calculate anything is kind of refreshing.

My plan as of now is to use this nutritional knowledge as a healthier foundation for starting Weight Watchers. In the past, I’d abuse WW points by having fat free hot dogs (1 point each!) frequently. Low points, yes. Also completely un-nutritious and chemical-laden.

10.5 more weeks, 10.5 more weeks. Have I mentioned there are 10.5 more weeks?

Seriously, I feel like such a whiner in this contest. I am not used to being quite so wussy about things and I don’t like it. My goal for the next week is to buck up, suck it up and work even harder. This is a major gift and I need to treat it like one, instead of like a 12-week prison sentence.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meal plan

  1. Valerie says:

    Cutting out starches at dinnertime is part of how I lost weight; no kidding, it works. I need to get back on that.

    While it doesn’t seem like you are allowed any “splurges,” start thinking of fatty, delicious, but healthy things as splurges – like the peanut butter, which is delicious and somewhat sinful, but at least it’s healthier for you than a cookie or sugary snack. For me, splurges now are nuts, nut butter, butter, cheeses, and, of course, the occasional baked good.

    Keep kicking ass, you are doing great!

Leave a Reply

