Under the weather

Well, I now know why running has been especially excruciating. When my cough of three weeks turned into a wheeze, I knew I needed a return visit to the doctor. Turns out the antibiotics I had taken weren’t quite strong enough, and I have bronchitis and bronchitis-induced asthma.

That is not what I need during week 2 of the Fittest Loser competion–a week when the body is trying to hold on to the weight it rapidly lost the week before. I stepped on the scale today and I weigh the same as I did on Saturday at the gym. So frustrating! I have 48 hours to turn it around, but I wasn’t able to work out tonight due to the lung issues.

The good news is I now have an inhalator to take with me to the gym, so hopefully that will fix a few issues. I am so scared of maintaining or gaining this week and having those results published in the paper. Internet commenters can be meanies and I’m picturing the awful things they might say about the elephantine woman who can’t even lose weight when given a free trainer 3x/week.

Well, I promise, I am following the plan. I’m eating right, I’m working out hard (except for tonight) and I WANT this. I’m going to do a double workout tomorrow, if the lungs allow, in preparation for stepping on the scale on Saturday.

Speaking of weigh-ins, our starting weights will be published in the Daily Herald on Monday. I can’t decide if I’m going to run for the paper the second it’s dropped off, or if I’m going to make Jon read it first and promise me that it’s not too humiliating. My before picture was taken post-workout, so I was an unshowered, sweaty mess. Push will be publishing a whole DIFFERENT set of before pictures, in which we’re clothed in ever-so-lovely white tank tops. Since every cloud has a silver lining, I will just be grateful that I had at least showered for that particular photo!

I know this blog tends to the venting side, but this really has been, and continues to be, a great experience. I’m feeling stronger and people are starting to notice a difference in my appearance already. I also love the four other contestants–they are awesome people and we’ve formed a strong support system via e-mail. I am very, very grateful to them, and to Jon, my friends, my coworkers and my family.

I promise to share all the highs and the lows of the next 10 weeks and give you a realistic picture of what losing weight on a public stage is like. So far, it’s been quite an adventure!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

