Reconsidering restaurants

Jon and I spend far too many meals in restaurants. We love them. We love food, we love not having to cook or clean, and we love being out and about.

But dining out is a whole new ballgame now. Lunches have been easy, fortunately–I’ve had delicious salads from one of my favorite lunch places, Egg’lectic Cafe in Rolling Meadows. I modified their hot chicken and pasta salad to remove the pasta, add extra broccoli in its place, eliminate the parmesan cheese, and substitute fat free sesame dressing for caesar. It is warm and filling and absolutely delicious.

Dear Pizza, I miss you. Love, Kristen

Dinners, on the other hand, are quite a challenge. Since I typically have a salad for lunch, I want something different at night. For example, I’d love to go get a steak for Valentine’s Day this weekend. But it’s so difficult to know how it’s been prepared and how much hidden fat and salt are present due to things like cooking it in butter. It makes eating out quite a pain, and I guess that’s a good thing.

Given how often we used to eat out, and how often we’d order pizza or fattening drive-through items, it seems like this drastic eating change should be making the weight fly off. Sadly it’s not. I lost 2 pounds today, for a total of 8 down (8.8 if decimals are allowed!)

I am trying to remember that slow and steady wins the race. But all I can think of at the moment is that for the amount of pain I’m in, these pounds should be melting off! A double workout yesterday and bootcamp this morning have knocked me flat.

One thing I’m proud of: my gym is right next door to our favorite pizza place–oh, cruel world!–and I’ve walked right by every time.

So, have you found any super tasty, but super healthy, restaurant meals that you’d recommend? Are there restaurants that have especially good low-fat/low-sodium options? I’d love to hear about them!

Photo source: LouMalnatis.com (Yum!)

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reconsidering restaurants

  1. Valerie says:

    I like the spicy tilapia from the Applebee’s Weight Watchers menu. Sushi is surprisingly low-cal, and so is steak, actually, assuming you receive a reasonable portion and eat it with veggies instead of a huge baked potato and bread. Indian food can also be very healthy, with meals heavy on veggies, fiber, and protein (assuming you get no cream sauces).

    There is basically nothing you can get at a pizza joint or Chili’s that is a reasonable meal option.

    I know I’ve recommended the “Eat This, Not That” series to you before, but the 2011 version just came out and it’s always a handy reference guide to have. They have also come out with “Cook This, Not That” with delicious at-home recipes to try.

  2. kristikess says:

    Ironically, we went to Chili’s this weekend. 🙂 I had the fajitas with no tortillas and a side salad. Delicious! According to Weight Watchers, it’s 10 points for the fajitas and one tortilla, which isn’t bad.

    We also ate out a second time (right after I blogged about not eating out as much–shame on me!) and I had a steak salad at Chipotle. Very tasty!

  3. Valerie says:

    Yeah, the fajitas are about the only thing you can get at Chili’s, good call.

Leave a Reply

