Fittest Loser: 25% complete!

I can’t believe that we’re already a quarter of the way done with the contest! Craziness. In those three weeks, I’ve lost 12 pounds, met some great people, learned that I really can survive without pizza or pasta, and realized that I have a pretty fantastic support network.

I’ve learned to like things I once hated (e.g., yogurt) and I’ve tried new foods (e.g., stuffed squash at Val’s house last night–delish!). I’ve also cooked more chicken in the past 21 days than I probably have in the past year.

Most importantly, I’ve learned to like my body for the first time in….well, ever. I’ve always been ashamed of it, mad at it, humiliated by it. And now, happily, I am PROUD of it. It can do things I never thought possible. It can climb 24 flights of stairs and pull a 230-pound punching bag (including my trainer sitting on it) across the gym countless times. It can do 30+ pushups in a minute and it is even starting to be able to run. It feels incredible.

So, thank you so much to the Daily Herald and Push Fitness for giving me this opportunity and for transforming my entire outlook on my body and on life! I can’t wait to see what the next nine weeks bring.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fittest Loser: 25% complete!

  1. Valerie says:

    Congrats! Keep pumping away, you’re doing great. Training reminds us that we can do more than we thought we could do before. You are pushing your body more than you ever have before, and the results will be worth it.

  2. Melissa says:

    I’m so proud of you! šŸ™‚ If it’s in your plan, try spaghetti squash. Jason and I use it all the time in the place of regular pasta dishes (like spaghetti, obviously). Works great and tastes yummy!

  3. Lisa in Oz says:

    I just discovered your blog, and I’m loving this post in particular. After my sons were born last year, I’ve had some pretty negative thoughts about my body…but really, it’s done a lot that I should be proud of. So thanks for inspiring me. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

