A fit and fabulous weekend

This has been a pretty fantastic weekend. First and foremost, I think it’s the weather. It was so nice and sunny today, with a cool, rather than frigid, temp. I was able to run outside for the very first time…but more on that later.

On Saturday morning, five of the Fittest Loser Six (including Gerry, the Daily Herald editor) went to our weekly boot camp session. It started off deceptively easy and got increasingly torturous (boxing with push-up like exercises every two punches, meaning you’re up and down every five seconds for about five minutes straight). It ended with three solid minutes of pushups.

But it felt GREAT and we were all able to complete the exercises, even if we were gasping and sweating buckets. Here are a couple of pictures of us after our workout! 

Five of the Fittest Losers   

 

 Left to right, that’s Bob (in first place right now!), Gerry (Daily Herald editor), Jayne, me and Dee. To see the progress we’ve made, check out the pictures and video at http://www.thefittestloser.com. We’ve all lost at least 7% of our body weights–John and Bob have lost more than 10%!

Following boot camp, Jayne, Gerry and I stayed on for a hip hop lesson! It was so much fun. We danced to Jennifer Lopez’ “On the Floor” and learned some new moves. I later performed them for Betsie’s three-year-old, Sophie. Her response? “Kristen, you are SO weird!” 🙂

After that, I still wasn’t done with the fitness portion of the day! I went across the street to Dick Pond Athletics to be fitted for running shoes. I highly, highly recommend them. The store was PACKED, but the service was still outstanding. They measured my foot, gave me several pairs of neutral shoes to try on, then had me run on a treadmill while they took video to analyze my gait. I ended up with a super comfy Asics Nimbus shoe. Or as Jon likes to call it: “The $125 shoe you could have bought at Kohl’s for $40.” I’m not sure if that’s true…I refuse to google it in case it is…but the whole experience was well worth it. Besides, I didn’t actually pay for them. They were an amazing gift from my parents, to show their support of this crazy new lifestyle. And had we simply gone to Kohl’s, I would never have ended up with this shoe. First, it’s a size larger than I normally wear (I didn’t know you were supposed to go slightly larger to give your feet room to swell during a run) and it’s rather hideous. But I’m looking for something to get me through a 5K alive, not a gorgeous accessory. Here I am with my new kicks (and my sweet puppy, Nora):

I took the shoes out for their first test drive (run) today. They got me through week 3, day 1 of Couch to 5K, and felt great. I love them!

After getting my new shoes, my mom and I went out for lunch. I felt like Sally (as in “When Harry Met”) with all of my menu modifications: “May I please have the shrimp and sirloin, no cream sauce, no potatoes, no salt or butter, extra side of veggies?” Fortunately, the server didn’t kill me or spit in my food (as far as I could tell). It came out exactly as I ordered and was delicious. And under 500 calories!

Later on, Jon and I went to Betsie’s and Brandon’s for dinner. She very kindly made a meal that even I could eat! It is so nice to see how my friends are being so accommodating of this eating plan. It makes me feel much less like a weirdo when I’m still able to go out and have fun with friends without blowing the eating program.

Speaking of eating, our grocery store run only cost $60 this week–for the third straight week in a row! Our cart was about 80% produce, with steak, eggs, turkey meat and ice cream (not for me–boo) rounding out the list. Our meals for the week will be steak and asparagus, turkey taco salad, hamburgers wrapped in lettuce, turkey chili (I make this every single week), and grilled chicken sandwiches wrapped in lettuce. Breakfast is eggs or egg beaters with tomato and onion, and lunches are typically grilled chicken salads.

Seven weeks to go until our celebration day–and that is going to be SO much fun! More on that in a later post!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A fit and fabulous weekend

  1. Betsie says:

    Dude, in that picture with your shoes? You can REALLY tell how much weight you’ve lost! You look great, and I am so proud of you being able to keep this up and maintain a positive attitude! You’re an inspiration. 🙂

  2. Megs says:

    Stopped over from the Nest. You look GREAT in your new pic with the shoes!
    *high fives*

  3. Nota says:

    Another nestie! Not only am I so impressed with the progress you’ve made, but I’m really inspired by your attitude.

    I’ll also add – you could never have gotten those shoes at Kohl’s for $40 b/c being fit correctly for running shoes is priceless! I wish I’d done it much sooner for myself than I did – years of shin-splints that made me HATE running (so I never did it) cured with one correct fitting. Now I’ve got a few half-marathons under my belt. And after awhile, your ugly running shoes really start looking beautiful to you. I wasn’t crazy about the colors of the last pair I bought that were “my” shoe, but after two runs I was “I love my new shoes! Aren’t they pretty?”. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

