Mount Clothesius

I have a perfectly nice dresser in my bedroom. You’d never know it, though, because it’s currently buried under about four feet of clothing, which my husband has deemed Mount Clothesius.

A few items are things I never bothered to put away after the last load of laundry—oops–but the vast majority are from five minutes ago when I went exploring in my closet and tried on about 23 outfits. I currently have ONE pair of pants that fit. Uno. This is a good thing because the others are now too big. Too BIG! It’s still a shock to see “big” after “too” when I’m so used to seeing “tight.”

However, I don’t exactly have oodles of money with which to go on a shopping spree–especially when I hope to be out of THIS size in a couple of weeks. In fact, I was told today by THREE people that my new smaller pants were too baggy. I only bought them two weeks ago! I can’t believe I’m ready to kick the size 18s to the curb and get some 16s.

This begs the question: what on earth am I going to wear to work tomorrow? My ONE pair of pants have been worn twice this week and got all crumpled up in my gym bag today. Definitely time for a wash. I have three skirts in my closet–two are too big and one is an elusive size 14. The day I can fit into it will be a true celebration. Three work-appropriate dresses as well; I wore one this week, one is too big and the other slightly too springy. My too-big pants make me look like a gangsta with pants that hang around the thighs. EEK.

I used to have a slew of size 16 clothes waiting for the day I’d fit back into them. One day, however, I realized that they were just a source of stress that I had to face every single time I opened the closet. So I chucked them, rationalizing that I’d want a whole new wardrobe if I dropped two sizes anyway. I sort of forgot that whole new wardrobes are rather expensive.

Time to go on another spelunking trip through the closet. I have a vague recollection of a pair of pinstripe black pants that were too small a few months ago. If this doesn’t pan out, I’m not quite sure what I’ll do!

Good problem to have, all in all. But I wish I’d discovered it when the stores were still open!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mount Clothesius

  1. Betsie says:

    60’s tomorrow, wear the springy dress! 🙂

  2. Valerie says:

    Good for you! I have found that if you wear a belt, you can make a pair of pants work even if they’re a size too big, but it depends on the pants style. You can also stop by Meijer on your way home and pick up some cheap black slacks in a size that fits you, that way you won’t feel that bad when you have to give them away in a few more weeks. ;o)

  3. Nota says:

    A friend of mine has a business, I think it’s called “Trendy Transitions” where you can temporarily rent casual or work appropriate clothes as you move through sizes. I think you can probably find it online if you’re interested. She went through weight-loss surgery and found herself having lots of clothes issues as she was moving through sizes so quickly (and worked in a professional environment) – so she decided it was a business opportunity and just got started this past Summer.

Leave a Reply

