My proudest moment

Today proved that my body can do so much more than my mind gives it credit for. After a 6 a.m. boot camp session with Michelle and other Push clients, she and I had a one-on-one session at the Y.

Sidenote. Be careful what you pray for. I prayed that “cardio” did not mean 30 minutes of stairs or 30 minutes on the treadmill. My prayer was answered–with a two-mile run on an indoor track.

Two miles is twice as far as I’ve ever run in my life. In fact it’s probably well over twice as far, because I don’t think I ever actually ran a full mile. Even in high school, I’d walk the corners and run the straightaways. 28 years of no running had convinced me that I am not a runner and never will be.

But my body proved my mind wrong. When Michelle asked me to run a mile, I thought she was crazy. My knees have been bad, so I’ve been skipping runs and doing high-incline treadmill walks instead. Even when I was doing the Couch to 5K training, I was able to walk for three minutes after every three minute run. But she insisted, and I did it.

As I rounded that 10th lap, I threw my arms in the air and celebrated. Michelle looked at me and said, “Congratulations! But you’re only half done.”

The terror that coursed through my veins was palpable. But I ran that second mile, and I even shaved a minute off my time. I’m not exactly winning any gold medals in races….my best time was 13:30. The time is irrelevant at this point, though. Finishing that 20th lap was, hands down, the proudest moment of my life thus far. This girl, this former non-running, out-of-shape, lazy overeater, is not the person she used to be.

With each passing day, I am becoming more of a regular person and even an athlete. At boot camp today, I was able to do every last thing the skinny girls could do, and I wasn’t any more out of breath than they were. Yesterday, I climbed the 10 flights of stairs to my office without breaking a sweat. The progress I am seeing is almost unbelievable, and I’m loving every second of it.

Speaking of progress, I thought it might be time for another progress pic. The new ones were taken last night, and my official weight loss is 26 pounds since the contest started and 33 since Christmas, when I joined Weight Watchers.

From left to right, shortly before joining Weight Watchers; 15 pounds lost in the contest; and 26 pounds lost in the contest:

     

I forgot to wear the pink sweater, but the difference from the far left is pretty significant. The difference from the middle is minimal, but continuing to grow. Remind me not to wear short sleeves in public, though. Yeesh, that’s scary looking.

And now the side view–the first one was taken at the same time as the far left photo above, and the second one was taken last night:

 

Getting into this contest is one of the best things that’s ever happened to me. I am so lucky! And I am a RUNNER!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My proudest moment

  1. Melissa says:

    I am so, so proud of you! Teach me, Obi Wan! 🙂

  2. dr.girlfriend says:

    Congratulations! You are so inspiring! Keep up the good work!

  3. heather says:

    ok – so as someone that you don’t know who is now watching and following you – I’m so impressed! Congrats on the 2 miles and the weight loss. I can tell;) You’re looking GREAT:)

Leave a Reply

