Nothing fits…except the bridesmaid dress!

Today, it is a stunningly gorgeous 85+ degrees here in the Chicago suburbs. In other words, time to bust out the shorts (or, if you’re me and terrify the general public when you wear shorts, the capris). I pulled out my six pairs of capris–jean, black, khaki and white–and not a single one fit. My two pairs of bermuda shorts fell to my ankles. None of the skirts fit either.

So what’s a girl to do? Throw on the jeans and go shopping, of course! After a healthy lunch at Portillo’s–grilled chicken salad, hold the croutons–I went to Penney’s and picked up a pair of jean capris. Size 16, woo hoo! Last summer, I was in a 20.

In fact, here is a denim skirt I wore last summer:

I also picked up a pair of size 16 jeans (you know we’re not finished with the cold weather, despite the warm-weather tease today) to replace these:


The one thing that does fit? My bridesmaid dress! It zips up all the way, without any shapewear or other assistance. Due to the flappy bat wings and the gut, I still don’t look *good* in it, but it’s a vast improvement and I am over the moon happy. Pardon the picture quality. I didn’t realize it was blurry until after I was out of the dress:

With a Wonderbra and some Spanx, I should be good to go by May 14!

So much has changed since late January. Thank you, thank you, thank you to Push Fitness and the Daily Herald. You guys have changed my life! A million more thank yous to my trainer, Michelle. I feel like the luckiest girl in the world. To remind myself of how far I’ve come, I’m keeping that pair of jeans as a reminder. All of the other bottoms are currently in a huge garbage bag, ready to be donated to Goodwill. Good riddance!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nothing fits…except the bridesmaid dress!

  1. kristikess says:

    Note: I am not removing my pants in picture number 2. They just won’t stay up, so I was holding them in place.

  2. Mom says:

    Wow! You look beautiful!!! Thanks for dragging me to boot camp yesterday, someday I will forgive you.

  3. Melissa says:

    I am just shocked and in tears. Every post you inspire me. And I don’t know what you’re talking about – you look BEAUTIFUL in that dress!

  4. Valerie says:

    You look very cute in the dress! I’m so happy for you.

    FYI on photo #2, that’s why they usually hold the pants out to the side, not front-ways, haha. Congrats, you look great.

Leave a Reply

