Week 11!

We are now starting week 11 of the Fittest Loser competition. I can’t decide if it feels like I’ve been doing this forever, or if it feels like I just started. Some days, my answer is different than others! Today, it feels like a loooong 11 weeks. I am TIRED.

My new schedule requires training every single weekday morning with Michelle. Three days a week, it’s just the two of us. Two days a week, I go to her boot camp class. On Saturdays, I go to a different boot camp. On Sundays and evenings, I am supposed to do cardio on my own. I say “supposed to” because some nights (like, say, tonight) find me in my PJs at 6:30 p.m. because I am absolutely exhausted.

On top of my crazy schedule, Jon is in school until 10:30 p.m. three nights a week. I stay up to give him a hug and say good night, meaning I sleep from 11 p.m. until 4:15 a.m. most nights. NOT.ENOUGH.FOR.THIS.CRABBY.WOMAN.

Anyway, this crazy schedule would be all worth it if it was reflecting on the scale. However,  it is not. I lost one tiny little pound this week. I am blaming it on hormones, as the weigh-in day fell on a very bloated day of the month. Regardless of the reason, though, it’s annoying.

Fortunately, I am having lots of “non-scale victories,” as Weight Watchers would say. My trainer looked at me this morning and said, “Look how skinny you are! You’re disappearing!!” That felt pretty darn good. A coworker I haven’t seen in weeks also noticed a big change this morning. I swear, I am going to have a huge head when this is all over. I am not used to this many compliments, and I am totally eating them up. 🙂

That is one thing I’ve learned for sure in this competition: a kind word and a compliment can change a whole day for the better. It is now one of my big goals to pay at least one very genuine compliment every single day. I hope I can brighten people’s day the way they’ve brightened mine.

Another thing I’ve learned: if you hate running, you probably shouldn’t sign up for a 5K. I’m running my first in approximately 59 hours (but who’s counting?), and I’m on the verge of terrified. I’ve never run three miles in a row before. I’ve only run two miles twice. When my mom and I did the practice run, we got hot and tired five minutes in and walked the rest of the way. How am I going to do this?!

The rational part of my brain reminds the much larger crazier part that this is a 5K run/WALK, so it’s perfectly fine if I need to walk some of it. And, if I can just keep a decent pace, the whole thing will be over in less than 40 minutes. The crazy part reminds me that I am combining all of the things I hate–running, crowds, sweating, etc.–into one event. Fun.

Here’s hoping I have a great update on Saturday afternoon! Betsie and I are meeting at the gym tomorrow for our first-ever run together since 8th grade, when I believe we actually walked the entire mile. Our gym teacher would probably keel over from shock if he knew the two of us had voluntarily signed up for a 5K!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 11!

  1. Betsie says:

    Well, I can promise you don’t need to worry about getting hot on Saturday! 🙂 You’ll be fine! This is supposed to be a fun challenge, not a scary one! Just wait until someone asks you next week what you did over the weekend and you can nonchalantly throw in “oh, you know, did a 5k on Saturday, Easter on Sunday…” 🙂 You look great and you’re doing awesome!

  2. Sue says:

    Hey “Muscles”! Don’t forget, you’re losing fat and replacing it with muscles that weigh so much more. Look how many sizes you’ve gone down! Forget the scale. Just look in the mirror.

  3. Nota says:

    You LOST a lb. during a “bloat” week?!! Color me pea-f*in-green with envy! Consider that what is making you tired is that fat trying to fight back. You will not be conquered!

    As for the 5K – you KNOW you can do 2 miles, because you’ve done it. So you can go at least that far before you break to a walk if you control your pace and your breathing. Google “Galloway Method” – it’s been VERY effective for me. It’s where you run 2 or 3 minutes, then walk 1 minute to recover. I do a 3:1. So if you break to a walk, maybe you can have a watch set for intervals of 1 minute and tell yourself that you’re going to start running again at the end of the minute, even if it feels like a turtle place. You didn’t get this far in the competition because you were lacking in discipline. We aren’t quitting on you – so don’t you quit on yourself. Drink lots of water and get that 5k done. I recommend watching “Run Fat Boy Run” to get yourself hyped up – I watch it before every half-marathon I do. There’s also this documentary that might inspire you a bit also: http://www.amazon.com/Marathon-Challenge-Nova/dp/B000XBPDZ8

Leave a Reply

