Run my first 5K: Check!

I can finally cross something off my 30 Before 30 list! This morning, I ran my first 5K.

I use the term “ran” loosely, because it was probably the world’s slowest running pace on record, but it was a run nonetheless. We walked for 30 seconds at the halfway point, so I’d say that we ran a full three miles out of the 3.1.

Toward the end, I felt like I was running out of gas. I’d never run more than 2.25 miles in a practice run, and I think that was a mistake. With just a little more speed on the second half of the run, we’d have finished in under 40, since our first half was complete in 19.

Highlights of the race:

  • The weather! It felt a little too cold before we started running, but absolutely perfect during the race.
  • The course! Busse Woods is right in the town where we both grew up, so we could peek through the trees and see familiar houses and streets that

    let us know exactly where we were and how far we had left. This was especially motivating on the way back (Look! It’s the blue house! That means we’re almost done!).

  • The company! Betsie and I have been friends since we were four and have tons of memories of hellish mile-runs in grade school and high school. It was a huge victory to feel like we’ve left those days in the dust, now that we’re voluntarily running much farther distances.
  • The Easter bunny! He wasn’t there to take pictures–he was there to run! (He beat us by quite a bit, proving that slow and steady does NOT always win the race.)
  • The end! It was so exciting to see our husbands and Betsie’s kids cheering us on, and the race volunteers were so enthusiastic and complimenting us on finishing strong. The music was also energizing, and the free banana was a lifesaver. I felt very dizzy when I stopped, and it fixed me right up.

And now for the downsides:

  • The MUD. It was everywhere. My beautiful, magical running shoes are now a solid brown. My pants have mud up to my knees. It was crazy!
  • The bathrooms! Metal toilets, no toilet paper and NO STALL DOORS despite there being more than one toilet in the room. Gag. I chickened out and dealt with a semi-full bladder. Poor Betsie probably got tired of me shrieking, “Oh my gosh, I have to PEE!!”
  • Being passed by a toddler and her mother, and hearing the little girl say, “Mommy, we actually passed someone!”Actually, that should go on the list of positives. It was hilarious.

I wore my medal proudly and plan to sleep with it tonight.

Just kidding. But I may frame it with a photo from the race and hang it up in the office. I’m ridicuously proud that I’ve gone from a 270-pound couch potato who couldn’t run a half mile to a 228-pound woman who can run three–in TEN WEEKS.

You know how you always hear the Biggest Loser contestants say “If I can do it, ANYONE can do it!” and you want to beat them up because they have six months away at a ranch in which they’re sequestered from all bad food, don’t have to go to work and can work out every second of the day?

Well,  I do have a trainer for three hours a week, but I grocery shop, cook my own food, go to restaurants, work full time, have very little willpower, adore pizza and pasta,  hate working out for the most part and deal with temptation every single day, so I am telling you, if I can do it, anyone can. It’s so hard, but so worth it.

The best part about all of this isn’t the weight loss. It’s the confidence and the strength that I feel that I’ve never felt before. I feel like I have a zest for life that had dimmed in recent years. I can’t wait to see what life holds for me! Maybe one day next year I’ll get to post about a 10K run!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Run my first 5K: Check!

  1. Betsie says:

    I’m so proud of you! You did awesome; thanks for running with me! 🙂

  2. Sue says:

    Congratulations! I never doubted you would succeed.

  3. BmcB says:

    That is NOT the slowest running pace ever! I finished my first 5k in 44:30. Awesome job! Plus, now you just have a time to beat for your next one. There will be a next one, right? RIGHT?!

  4. kristikess says:

    Looks like I forgot to include my time! Official chip time isn’t out, but my watch showed 43:30 ish. There will be another! I’m looking at doing one in June and one in September.

  5. Mom says:

    Wow!!!! We’re all so proud of you! I’m so happy you and Betsie are back in the same state, you have such a special friendship. Sorry I chickened out of the run, I promise to do one with you in May, believe me you will leave me in the dust. Love you, Mom, Dad, Steve, Johnny and Ella.

  6. Valerie says:

    Good for you! In your running photo, your weight loss is so much more evident than all the other posed photos you’ve taken. You’re looking great, and congratulations on your 5K!

  7. Melissa says:

    So excited for you!!

  8. Mandy says:

    Awesome job girl!!! You have come so far, so fast! Congratulations on this HUGE success!!! 🙂

  9. Theresa says:

    WAY TO GO! I’m running my first in just over a month and I’m pretty nervous!

Leave a Reply

