Fighting temptation

All in all, the timing of this contest has been pretty perfect. It fell after the holidays and before delicious summer barbecues, and the few birthdays and a wedding that took place during it were relatively easy to handle.

And then there was Easter.

I managed to successfully navigate the minefield of fabulous foods and eat lots of grapes, two slices of turkey and a salad. In doing so, I turned down parmesan artichoke dip (one of my favorites), a variety of cheeses and crackers, chips and dip, cheesy potatoes (okay, I did have ONE bite of these), ice cream, lamb cake, a few other desserts, and….

PORTILLO’S CHOCOLATE CAKE.

You have no idea how ridiculously hard it was to refuse (and to not attack Jon as he ate a slice right next to me) and how insanely proud I was of myself for managing to say no.

For those of you who have not had Portillo’s chocolate cake, you are truly missing out on a magical experience. It is so rich, so chocolatey, so light and delectable…. I better move on, before I start composing an ode.

Anyway, it was nice to see that I could have a great time and eat good food, even though I had to turn down my favorites. Before Sunday, I never really realized that my typical party behavior is to park myself right by the foods and chat with the host. This time, I noticed I was doing it and made myself leave the area entirely.

I went in the basement to play XBox Kinect with my cousins and had so much fun! At past events, I would have been too embarrassed of my clumsiness and bulk to get up and participate with everyone. This time, I jumped right in (and kicked my athletic brother’s butt in the pole vault and boxing, I might add).

All in all, I think that may have been even more satisfying than cake.

EDITED TO ADD:

Current weight, as of today’s week 11 weigh-in: 226 pounds

I started the contest at 263, weighed 270 on Christmas Eve and was 283 at my highest two years ago. It’s so exciting to have come such a long way, but it also scares me because I know from experience how easy it comes back on. I cannot let that happen this time. I also can’t get disheartened and give up over how much I still have left to go. I will get there in my own time and I’ll do my best to enjoy the ride.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fighting temptation

  1. Valerie says:

    Is it bad that your post kind of makes me want Portillo’s chocolate cake? (I’ve never had it, but heard it’s good.)

    Congratulations on your continued success! No food is worth making you unhappy, and I can tell how excited you are by your weight loss.

  2. Rachel says:

    Awesome way to navigate away from the food table at Easter. I didn’t even realize I park next to the apps and talk with the host (or usually I am the host)! A little nibble here and more nibbles of goodies there and next thing I’m too full for dinner! But does that stop me?Noooo! Great job Kirsten! And way to go on the 5k! That’s is truly amazing. I really don’t think I could ever do that!

Leave a Reply

