The end…and the beginning

The Fittest Loser Contest is officially complete. It ended yesterday, with a brutal boot camp that consisted of three minutes of jump rope, three minutes of burpees, rinse and repeat, over and over and over–until the end when we jumped rope for five straight minutes in a row.

Halfway through, we contestants looked like beaten animals; there was no life behind our tired, hungry eyes. I was concerned that one  (who was wearing a sauna suit and looked like he’d dropped 10 pounds overnight) wouldn’t even make it to the gym.

But we did make it, and I had the best weigh-in I’ve had to date. I can’t say exactly what it was because I found out after spilling it on Facebook that we’re not supposed to share it until the celebration night on May 11. I will just say that I was thrilled and the number helped me surpass my big goal for the 12 weeks.

Here we are, smiling with giddy relief after we all weighed in, downed some water and chowed down on bananas or chicken:

While I am so happy with the results, I knew the big loss was temporary due to water weight. Sure enough, I gained half of it back overnight and I feel like a giant bloated mess. That is the last time I will do a cleanse! Slow and steady is the way to go.

To celebrate the end of the contest, I went and got a very badly needed highlight and a makeover at the Clinique counter with my mom. They put approximately 37 products on me and I have to wonder how on earth women manage to do that every single day. I bought some eye shadow and eyeliner, but I am just not talented or patient enough to deal with that many products.

I had decided that Saturday would be my treat day before going back to Weight Watchers and focusing on clean eating again, so my mom and I split some lettuce wraps at Cheesecake Factory and Jon and I shared fajitas later that night. Big mistake. I feel revolting this morning, and I am so ready to get back to business.

Tomorrow is my appointment with Dr. Paul, who did our initial health assessments. Can’t wait to see how my results have changed! Here’s hoping the little food binge last night didn’t do too much damage!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The end…and the beginning

  1. Rachel says:

    I love the time you spend with your mom. That is so precious! And you look FABUlous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

