Week 1 after Fittest Loser

This week was a bit of a mixed bag. There were some major splurges–most notably some salty Asian food–and there were a few great days too. Workouts were intermittent until I set up a five-day-per-week schedule that I’m committed to maintaining. Overall, I gained back exactly half of the weight I lost in the final week of the Fittest Loser contest.

Ordinarily, that would be a very bad thing. But with a cleanse as strict as that one and a weight loss as large as that one, I was actually expecting to gain three quarters of it back. Half still puts me at a great net loss for that week. Now I just have to kick it into gear to make sure I have a loss this coming week.

Despite the significant gain this week, I still went to Weight Watchers and weighed in. I was VERY proud of that. In the past, I avoided the scale whenever I expected a gain, no matter how slight. This time I’m going to go no matter what the results because I need to own up to both the great things I’ve done and the crappy things I’ve done. If I avoided the scale this week and lost a few of the pounds I gained back, I’d then want to avoid it next week too because there’d still be a net gain from the week before (if that makes any sense).

Seeing the big number was actually a good thing because it made me motivated to keep my gym appointment today. I did a 5k on the elliptical at incline level 10 and resistance level 10. It felt amazing! To keep me going, I listened to my trusty Dave Ramsey podcast, which always gets me through a workout. He and I are at the opposite ends of the political spectrum, but he’s definitely helped our financial situation!

In addition to the gym and Weight Watchers, I also hit the shops in preparation for our Florida trip coming up. I am in the most confusing place. 1X in the plus section is too baggy in almost every case, but XL in the misses section is still a tiny bit too tight in most instances. Literally nothing fits me! The same goes for pants. 16W pants fit in the waist, but are hugely baggy in the thighs. 16 regular fits in the thighs, but is too tight in the waist. 14W seems to be the best bet, but Lane Bryant’s are too baggy in the thighs and JC Penney’s seems to start at 16 in the plus section. ARGH!

After going to about seven stores, I ended up with a pair of black shorts (SHORTS! I haven’t bought shorts in years), a jean skirt, two tops and two bras. I’m going to really try to get the weight down over the next four to six weeks so I can leave the plus size section once and for all.

And now for a final update on the bridesmaid dress: it required no alterations except for a tiny stitch to make sure I wouldn’t flash the church. It must have been even smaller on me than I’d originally thought, because I lost over four inches across the chest and back. Thank goodness for Fittest Loser, or I’d never have been able to squeeze into that baby!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 1 after Fittest Loser

  1. Rachel says:

    I too dream of the day when I don’t have shop the plus size stores. That alone, might keep me motivated, all the cute clothes!

  2. dr.girlfriend says:

    You’re doing so wonderfully! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

