Mother’s Day fun–and food

First off, I have to say that I have, without a doubt, THE best mom and grandmas in the world. I am so lucky to be related to these ladies.

On Mother’s Day, I was able to see two of the three. My dad’s mom lives in Arkansas, and I miss her a lot. She was diagnosed with cancer last fall, and she is on my mind all the time. I wish we lived closer. My mom’s mom lives in Chicago, so we see her pretty frequently. I am so fortunate to have her, especially since there have been many health scares over the last few years. She is turning 85 next week and is absolutely hilarious.

My dad, brothers and Jon were busy, so Mom and I had a nice girls’ afternoon. We decided to drive into the city in her silver Mustang with the top down, and I felt like a law-abiding version of Thelma and Louise. It was so much fun!

Walking into my grandma’s house, the first thing I heard from her was, “Wow, you look so much thinner!” This, after a very crappy weekend of eating, made my day. I love that woman. 🙂

See that drink of Bailey’s in her hand? I don’t drink much–especially Bailey’s–and I accidentally poured her a full 12 oz. glass at first. She happily accepted it and started drinking–until my mom saw it and asked me if I was trying to put my grandma into an alcohol-induced coma. Whoops. 🙂

While we were there, my mom’s four brothers also stopped by. We had a great afternoon with family and made plans for my grandma’s luau birthday bash on the 22nd.

We also ate–chips and dip and spinach dip, along with a banana cupcake. I didn’t eat lunch beforehand and that, in a nutshell, is why I am not doing well right now. I’m not PLANNING like I was, and I would say that planning was 90% of the reason behind my success.

I am going to use my time in Florida to really plan out my game plan for when I get home. Tomorrow, I’m checking out some clean eating books from the library and getting a workout plan from my trainer that I can do at home. I’ll also be starting one-day-a-week workouts with Michelle when I get back. I can’t wait. I am so ready to get back on track!

Today’s Oprah show was on weight loss and Bob Greene noted that, like an alcohol addict, food addicts must wake up every single day of their lives and make the decision to be healthy. At first, that depressed me. But then I realized, if I make the wrong decisions one day, it does not doom me to failure or mean I’ve lost the battle. I just lost one step of the very long journey. We are all going to have missteps, but what matters is that we get back on the path as quickly as possible and keep on trekking in the right direction.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mother’s Day fun–and food

  1. Melissa says:

    OK, while working out last night I had a song running through my head and it helped me keep pushing. Thought of your “The Voice” post and thought maybe it might help you, too. 🙂 The 1st verse won’t apply to you, but it did to me! I was thinking of you from the first chorus to the end. Enjoy! Looking forward to seeing you tonight. ~Melissa

    Family Tree by Matthew West (contemporary Christian, so obviously Christian themes. 🙂 ) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1dfe8esH2Y (no real “video”, just the image of the album w/ the song over it)

    You didn’t ask for this
    Nobody ever would
    Caught in the middle of this dysfunction
    It’s your sad reality
    It’s your messed up family tree
    Now you’re left with all these questions

    Are you gonna be like your father was and his father was?
    Do you have to carry what they’ve handed down?

    No, this is not your legacy
    This is not your destiny
    Yesterday does not define you

    No, this is not your legacy
    This is not your meant to be
    I can break the chains that bind you

    I have a dream for you
    It’s better than where you’ve been
    It’s bigger than your imagination

    You’re gonna find real love
    And you’re gonna hold your kids
    You’ll change the course of generations

    ‘Cause you’re my child, you’re my chosen
    You are loved, you are loved
    And I will restore all that was broken
    You are loved, you are loved

    And just like the seasons change
    Winter into spring
    You’re bringing new life to your family tree now
    Yes you are, you are

    Oh, this will be your legacy
    This will be your destiny
    Yesterday did not define you

    Oh, this will be your legacy
    This will be your meant to be
    I can break the chains that bind you

    And just like the seasons change
    Winter into spring
    You’re bringing new life to your family tree now

  2. Rachel says:

    Great song Melissa! I’m sorry I missed that Oprah show, I might night to watch it somewhere on the Internet…..
    Where does your grandma live in Arkansas? That’s where I live now! In the Ozark Mountains! Any plans to visit soon?

  3. Kristen K says:

    Good song! I also love his songs “More” and “When I Said I Do.”

  4. Kristen K says:

    She lives near Mountain Home. I haven’t been there yet so I don’t know exactly where that is. 🙂 We hope to visit over Labor Day weekend.

  5. Rachel says:

    Kristen! I lived in Mountain Home for 3 years prior to moving to Salem which is just 40 minutes East of there. My parents still live in Mountain Home! What a small world! You will LOVE it here, it’s incredibly beautiful and nothing like what people think of Arkansas. They aren’t ALL hillbillies running around with no shoes, just some of them do that 🙂 We must get together when the time comes!

Leave a Reply

