Back from vacation…and back on the wagon

Well, I survived my first vacation following the Fittest Loser–though I gained two pounds in the process.

Happily, my brother-in-law and new sister-in-law’s wedding was beautiful and I fit into the bridesmaid dress!

Don’t Jon’s sister and mom look beautiful? It was so much fun to hang out with them for a week!

It was also fun to eat a lot of fabulous-tasting foods–but not worth gaining some weight back. It’s somewhat miraculous that I only gained two pounds when you consider some of what I ate: spinach artichoke dip, ice cream, hamburger, pasta, chips and queso…..the list goes on. (And on and on…)

I think the walking we did helped a LOT. Much of our walking happened at Universal Studios Island of Adventure, where we went with Jon’s aunt and uncle to see Hogwarts! It was very cool, and the Harry Potter ride was a lot of fun. However: just to get IN to the park requires about a two-mile walk from the parking garage. Then, Hogwarts is right at the back of the park, requiring a whole lot more steps. By the time we got back to the car, our legs were burning! But it was a great thing we did all that walking because I consumed both a hot dog AND fish and chips while there. It’s like I have this horrible vacation mindset that lets me splurge like crazy when I’m away. Not. Good.

The rest of the walking took place at Kennedy Space Center’s Visitor Center and Magic Kingdom. We got to see Hogwarts, a shuttle launch and Disney World all in one trip (not to mention a great wedding). What a week!

Here are two pictures that are interesting to compare. The one on the left was taken a week ago and the one on the right was taken on our last trip to Disney, in December 2009. THIS is why it’s so important that I don’t keep falling off the wagon, and I need to look at this post and remind myself on a daily basis.

 

It’s hard to see the difference since the photo on the left is dark, but there’s a big one. I had no idea I was as large as I was in 2009/10. My face looked like it’d been inflated like a balloon. Wow.

Well, that is all the motivation I need to get going again on a healthy lifestyle. This morning, I went back to Push for the first time since the contest ended and did boot camp class. I was terrified since I hadn’t worked out in nearly two weeks, but I held my own! And I felt like a million bucks afterward. I have not felt that good in weeks, and it was a great reminder  that my body wants to work out and be fueled with great foods.

Tomorrow is my grandma’s 85th birthday party and I feel so fortunate to get to celebrate it with her. I need to live the healthiest life I can so that my own grandkids can celebrate my 85th birthday with me.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

