Recognizing progress

Too often, people–women, especially–harp on themselves for every single thing they do wrong, and don’t take a minute to give themselves a mental high-five for the things that they get right.

That’s where I’ve been in the past couple of weeks since the Fittest Loser contest ended. Every time I’ve consumed a calorie I shouldn’t have eaten, I beat myself up for it. On the days I didn’t get to the gym, I felt like a failure. But on the days I DID do everything right and made some great strides, I barely took notice.

If all I ever do is recognize the negative, it’s going to become a self-fulfilling prophecy and I’ll never accomplish my goals. So one of my goals this week is to be nice to myself and give myself a pat on the back (better make sure no one’s looking) when I do something good.

So, here’s my first recognition of progress. In the early days of training, I couldn’t do burpees (hands on the ground, jump both feet back and then forward and stand up) for one minute. My trainer modified them for me for most of the 12 weeks. Today, I did them for three solid minutes, no modifications. And then for another three minutes after a quick break. I was so proud! (And so sore!)

I (and my fellow boot campers) also flipped this monster tractor tire across the parking lot and back. I cringed when I saw that it was outside waiting for us, and I was pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to do it. But I did, and my aching arms felt like a million bucks afterward!

We boxed as well, which I LOVE. Boxing gloves and pads are at the top of my birthday list this year, followed by a jump rope, a clean eating book and P90X. A year ago, who ever would have thought that’s what my list would look like? Definitely not me. But I’m loving it!

Before I go, I want to give a quick update on the No TV challenge. Dumb move to start it while Jon is gone. I HATE having a silent house. Lying in bed at night with no TV was not fun. I’ve listened to the radio more in the past 24 hours than I have in the past month. I debated changing the rules to say no TV before 9 pm, but I am staying strong. No TV means no TV. One day down, six to go!

If you are working on a goal, I’d love to hear about how you recognize your progress and reward yourself so that you’re less inclined to give up!

 

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recognizing progress

  1. Sara says:

    It is funny how a few months can reshape a person. I am in the same boat as you. I was talking to my mom today and she was like oh I didn’t know you had a heart rate monitor, wow I can’t believe you are doing Insanity etc. It is a complete 360 from where I was a few weeks ago. When I say I am working out just had a smoothie etc it’s a surprise to so many people. This is the new me! I’m glad we are both reshaping ourselves at the same time because your story is very motivating!

Leave a Reply

