Making choices

I “liked” the P90X page on Facebook the other day, and I was really struck by Tony Horton’s post today:

Write down how you feel when you blow off your workout. Write down how you feel the moment your workout is over. Compare the two.

Typically people make choices that have positive consequences or ramifications for themselves. In other words, they feel good.

So, why am I all too often choosing the thing that makes me feel BAD (not exercising, eating poorly, etc.)? I feel incredible atfter a hard workout and my body feels great after a refreshing salad. Why have I convinced myself that I feel good after eating pizza or pasta?

Sure, those foods taste good. But I feel greasy, bloated and queasy when I’m done eating. Why would I CHOOSE to feel that way?

Tony’s post inspired me to get my butt off the couch (oh yeah, did I mention that I broke my TV challenge 80 hours in?) and go for a walk with the husband and pups. We had a really nice time and said hello to a bunch of neighbors (including a small child who waved at me from the window and told me all about going to the far away park with his friend Amanda, despite the fact that he had no idea who I was). It was so much more pleasant than a night stuck indoors.

So I am telling myself right here and right now: Choose what makes you REALLY feel good–not what tastes good for two minutes and not what is easier. You’ll be so much happier in the long run!

 

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making choices

  1. Valerie says:

    I totally agree. I think I have posted that here on this blog – that tasting the food isn’t worth the weight or the crappy feelings afterward. As I’ve cut out sugar, I’ve started to become more sensitive to it, so I might have to cut it out entirely. It makes me feel awful after eating it.

  2. Are you doing P90X now? That’s a hardcore workout. I have several of the Beachbody videos – and LOVE Tony Horton! 🙂 ‘Course it helps if the DVDs make it into the DVD player, but that’s my personal challenge. Did the original P90 a couple of times several years ago and still love it.

Leave a Reply

