How Kristen got her groove back

My groove has been missing since May 11th, the night of the Fittest Loser finale. I’ve searched high and low, and I keep catching glimpses of it, but it’s always just out of reach.

So to get back in the weight loss groove once and for all, I am trying two new things this month:

  • A Fittest Loser contest with my mom and Jon. I believe we’re doing pounds rather than percentages since we’re all hoping to lose 20 pounds on our little contest. My starting weight was 219.6. The problem? Day 1 of our contest was my baby brother’s high school graduation and we had a celebratory lunch at one of my family’s favorite places. Where we ordered our favorite nachos. I SUCK at weight loss.
  • I ordered Insanity. Yay for craigslist–I’m picking it up tomorrow for $65 (vs. the $145 price when bought new through Beachbody)! if you don’t hear from me by Saturday night, call the police. I’m meeting the seller alone and I’m not even sure if he/she is male or female. I promise I won’t go in any houses. And I may bring pepper spray. (Can you  tell this is my first craigslist transaction?)

I should probably be more worried about Insanity itself than the craigslist seller. After all, in the video here, the very fit shirtless gentleman is dripping with sweat and declaring, “That sh*t is BANANAS, yo!”

If it weren’t so funny, it would be very daunting.

Seriously, I probably should have watched the video BEFORE committing to the purchase. The guy wasn’t kidding. It IS bananas. Just watching all the jumping makes my knees hurt. However, I am in desperate need of a drastic program that is going to get me back in my groove. I’m determined for this to be it.

The bonus? I can exercise in my air-conditioned family room. While we’re on the topic of insanity, these outdoor boot camps in 90+ degrees have been insane. I was thisclose to throwing up last Saturday and I sweated off three pounds in one hour. (Too bad I ate those nachos and gained it back.)

I weigh in again on Saturday and I’m convinced Michelle is going to kill me when she sees that the scale hasn’t budged. And that I’ve been remiss about journaling. Why am I doing this, yo? Oh, sorry. Sweaty video dude’s vocabulary is contagious.

Check back to see an Insanity update by Saturday night–assuming I’ve survived both the craiglist seller AND the first workout.

 

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Kristen got her groove back

  1. Sara says:

    I won’t tell you Insanity isn’t Insane because it is! However, if you take breaks when your body tells you to and go at your own pace you will do fine! After the first week and doing the videos I don’t even watch the TV anymore. I have my side to the TV and just listen to Shaun T and his cues. If I watch the TV then I either am in awe of the people and don’t do the routine or push too hard to keep up with them. I am more comfortable with the program now and I have found my groove! You’ll do just fine!

  2. Rachel says:

    Go Kristen Go! I’m proud of you girl. And dang those nachos! 🙂

    Hey are you still planning a trip to Mountain Home, Ar sometime this summer? If so my hubby and I would love to meet up with you and John and take you to lunch or dinner.

Leave a Reply

