Going insane

Holy buckets of sweat, Batman. Insanity is certainly aptly named.

As you can see, I survived my first craigslist transaction–only to be beaten up by the DVD itself. Tonight was the Fit Test–not even a real workout–and I was genuinely concerned that I was going to have a heart attack for a few minutes there. It was harder than any boot camp I’ve done to date, and harder than most of my personal training sessions as well. I had no idea what I was getting myself into!

The Fit Test consists of a warm-up, a series of eight 60-second exercise tests and a cool-down. Every two weeks for the next 60 days I will retake the test and evaluate my progress. Without further ado, here are my current stats:

Switch kicks (kicking your left leg straight up, then your right; two kicks=1): 54

Power jacks (jumping jacks into a squat position): 36

Power knees (bringing your knee up to your chest at a diagonal): 72

Power jumps (I’ve already forgotten what these are because my brain is doing its best to repress the memories): 31

Globe jumps (jumping into a squat right, back, left, front; four jumps=1): 8

Suicide jumps (what my gym calls burpees–and what I calll torture): 10

Push-up jacks: 22

Low plank obligues: 35 (but with poor form; I just can’t keep my butt out of the air!)

We are also supposed to take before-and-after photos. I took these a couple of days ago because I thought I’d be getting Insanity sooner than I did:

   

Pardon the water droplets. I was running through the sprinkler with my dogs. 🙂

Current weight: 219.6

Can’t wait to see what changes in two weeks! Off to see how Jon did on his Fit Test. I was holed up in the office with the dogs, who could not stand the fact that their dad (don’t judge; we are nauseating pet parents) was running, but they couldn’t join in.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Insanity, Progress pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

