Becoming a donor for Alice

Last week I came across an article on Alice’s Bucket List. Alice is 15, and she has terminal cancer. Her number-one wish is for the whole world to sign up for the bone marrow donor registry.

About four months ago, I tried to sign up to be a bone marrow donor. And I experienced total horror when I realized that my weight prevented me from doing so. I was absolutely disgusted that my laziness and poor eating habits were potentially preventing a life from being saved.

Fast forward a few months, and in the excitement of all that’s been going on this year, I’d forgotten all about the bone marrow registry.

Alice and her sister

Until I read Alice’s posts. You can tell she is just a normal, sweet, hopeful girl, who never dreamed that her blog would capture international attention. She won’t accept monetary donations; all she wants is for lives to be saved, even though it is likely too late for her.

Immediately after reading her blog, I went right back to the Be the Match bone marrow registry to check the weight requirements and see how much farther I had to go before I could sign up. Much to my amazement, I’m now within the donor range! I was so excited and signed up immediately.

Today, my kit came in the mail. I swabbed my cheek four times and will be shipping it back tomorrow. Knowing that my weight loss might not only impact MY health, but also someone else’s, is incredible.

Alice, thanks for reminding me about the bone marrow registry. You are so brave and you are truly changing the world. You go, girl!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Becoming a donor for Alice

  1. Valerie says:

    Congrats! Dave and I are also on the registry after my dad’s battle with leukemia. If you are selected to be a donor, there is an 80+ percent chance that you’ll be involved in a non-invasive stem cell transplant instead of a traditional bone marrow transplant, which is better for both donor and recipient. Good for you, thanks for registering.

Leave a Reply

