4:50 a.m.

This post’s title refers to the obscenely early hour at which my alarm clock will now start blaring. Any time that begins with a four and ends with an a.m. is just not meant for humans to witness. But alas.

The reason for my earlier wake-up time is that evening workouts are just not doing it for me. I feel like I wake up, go to work, do housework (cooking and light cleaning), work out, shower and go to bed. Notice a theme? Work, work, work. And all work and no play makes Kristen a dull girl.

It got to the point that I was so burned out during Insanity tonight, that I just could not do it anymore. I kept bargaining with myself to just go one more minute….until I just couldn’t anymore. Now, I will be waking up at 4:50, leaving for the gym at 5, working out until 5:30 and coming home to get in the shower by 5:45 and out the door by 7. When I get home at night, I’ll still make dinner, but now I’ll have another hour-and-a-half to do whatever I’d like. A few nights a week, this will probably include a second workout, but it won’t be an obligation: it will be a choice.

On the alternate nights, I will take the dogs for a walk, read a great library book, chat on the phone with friends, blog and watch trashy reality TV. Still not terribly exciting…but much more relaxing when I know the nights are more flexible and I don’t have to cram everything in.

Another reason I’m switching the workouts to the morning is that I think it will inspire me to eat better. When I start the day with a workout, I’m not going to want to waste it by eating like a pig afterward. And I’ll have more time after work to cook a decent dinner because I won’t have to rush so I have time to exercise.

I do love Insanity, so I will try to do those tapes at least two to three times a week, with the gym at least three more times per week. Those gym workouts will include some running since I have to start training for my second 5K.

On that note, I better go so I can make the most of the next hour. I have to hit the hay by 10 if I want to be conscious on my drive to the gym!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4:50 a.m.

  1. Nota says:

    How’s the 4:50 wake-up call going?

    Have you considered running in the morning before work instead of hitting the gym? I say this because if you’re leaving for the gym at 5 & working out until 5:30 – how long is the commute? That’s shaving time off your workout. If you run in the morning, then that commute time becomes additional workout time – and you can focus on resistance in the daytime workout hours knowing you’ve got the cardio in already. Just a thought.

  2. Sara says:

    I work at 7am 3-4 days a week so I started getting up around 445 to workout also. I am doing the workouts at home though so I don’t have to worry about commute time. I usually get in a good half hour and it makes me feel great! I was getting burned out by afternoon workouts too so I know how you feel! Keep up the good work and I hope you start seeing progress again soon.

Leave a Reply

