Take 2—or maybe 12?

There’s something about me and Weight Watchers. I just can’t stay away.

I’ve written about my relationship with Weight Watchers before. At that time, I was determined that it was the LAST TIME and it was GOING TO WORK. Then, I got accepted into the weight loss contest and that worked really well. When it ended, I decided I could do this on my own and decided my on-again relationship with WW was now off.

And then I gained 11 pounds.

Clearly I need help. The accountability of having my weight published in a newspaper was incredible. It worked like a charm. This time, my weight won’t be in the paper, but I will post my meeting weight every single week here, and I’ll be going to meetings with my mom. She’s so annoyingly DILIGENT about the whole journaling thing, and I know my competitive nature will come out and make me want to lose more weight than her. Competition is a good thing! 🙂

The title of this post contains a question mark because I have absolutely no idea how many times I’ve joined Weight Watchers, but I know it’s in the double digits. And I know I lost at least 10 pounds each time–and 45 pounds the first time. That means I’ve lost (and gained) at least 130 pounds. I want to barf. If I had just lost it all in one go, I’d be 110 pounds now–TOO skinny.

Instead, I’m twice that.

Will it work this time? If I choose to make it work, it will–and I will. I need to, for my health, so I can have a baby someday, so I can go shopping, so I can feel proud. The benefits are so worth the work–and I know that for a fact. There’s no reason NOT to do this.

In conjunction with Weight Watchers, I’ll be starting Couch to 5K for my 5K on September 18th. Hopefully, between the two, I’ll see some real results!

Anyone else on Weight Watchers? I’d love to know your favorite snacks and what you typically have for lunch!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Take 2—or maybe 12?

  1. Natalie says:

    Good luck with WW. I joined last August and have lost 86lbs. The program works and you sound motivated to make it work. I also did the Couch to 5K program and LOVED IT! I have ran 3 5Ks since April and just ran 3.6miles last night, just because I could. Now I am really slow but who cares, you will be out there running! I am a fan of skinnytaste.com for recipes including great sandwiches, soups, and salads for lunch. Plus the dinners are good and have leftovers. Good luck and you will do great!

  2. Melissa says:

    Not officially – but yes! Following on my own, got my points plus calculator & food guide. 🙂 I second skinnytaste.com and also like leadingtheweigh.com for inspiration. 🙂 Got some other ideas, just not organized enough at the moment to have them in front of me!

  3. Rachel says:

    I too am a weight watchers drop out. I lost around 15 pounds, 10 years ago. I keep talking myself into going back and then I talk myself out of it, mostly because of cost. I feel like I should be able to do it on my own. Why I don’t know, because I have never done it on my own before, ever!
    I would love for you to journal what you eat on here.
    PS. I haven’t forgotten about the guest blog, just super busy at work. I will get something to you soon!

  4. Kristen K says:

    Rachel–there is currently free registration and 25% off the first month if you join by August 1st. Here’s the web site if anyone is interested! http://www.weightwatchers.com/monthlypass/promolanding.aspx?channelid=13&sponsorid=1020&promotionid=3421&pageid=1178401&ngt=y

    Natalie, congrats on the 86 pounds! That is incredible!

Leave a Reply

