Back on the wagon, again!

I am all sorts of happy today, for three primary reasons:
1. I had my first weigh-in yesterday and it went very well.
2. I went running this morning for the first time in months.
3. I’m going on a mini-getaway this weekend with Jon!

Now, for some details.

I was expecting to see a four-pound loss on the Weight Watchers scale last night–and I would have been thrilled with that. But I didn’t lose four pounds; I lost 6.4! I was so elatead that I may or may not have danced my way back to my seat. Fortunately almost no one was there yet.

One of the reasons I was so shocked and happy is that this is almost as much as I lost in the first week of my weight loss contest–and that involved a MAJOR shift in my eating and exercise habits. It was great to see the same results with more subtle changes, but this big loss likely means I had eaten terribly in the previous couple of weeks.

Now, on to my run. I ran! I finally lugged myself off the couch and out the door, and I RAN! There is a 1.5-mile loop around our neighborhood, and I was planning to force myself to run half a mile, and then walk most of the rest of the way. Once I got running, though, it really didn’t feel so bad! I ended up going for 1.2 miles, and I’m fairly sure I could have made the full 1.5, but I was feeling really queasy and I didn’t want to throw up in front of the adorably coiffed stay-at-home moms who were on the lawns with their equally gorgeous children. It was bad enough running past them with my tomato face and dripping sweat.

My plan is to run three days per week and do Insanity the other three. One blissful day each week, I’ll get a rest.

This brings me to our getaway this weekend to St. Louis, MO. I’m a little worried about how it will impact my workout schedule and eating (especially with restaurants like Pappy’s Smokehouse and Ted Drewes Frozen Custard on my itinerary, along with some beer at the Anheuser Busch tour), but if I do Insanity before I leave tomorrow and run on Monday night after we get back, I’ll make Sunday my rest day for the week and not be too far off track.

Then I have two full days at home and it’s time to pack up the car once again for a long weekend in Minocqua, Wisconsin, home of my parents’ cabin. I love it there and I am positively giddy thinking about the fun we’ll have on the boat and in town.

Despite all of the opportunities to go crazy with food, I’m doing my best to stay firmly on the wagon–my mom and I have already looked up a nearby Weight Watchers meeting to go to while we’re there.

Enjoy the last few weeks of summer! Any big plans or fun ideas to share? If you’re local to Chicago, and especially if you have kids, visit my friend’s new blog for some cute ideas!

Image source: www.gatewayarch.com

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back on the wagon, again!

  1. Jennifer says:

    I just started WW meetings after trying online with no success for months. I had a fabulous first week with 3.8 lbs lost. I sort of had a difficult weekend food-wise, so we’ll see what the scale says tomorrow morning. I did get my act together by Monday. I’m looking forward to following your continued weight loss!

  2. Valerie says:

    PAPPY’S IS AMAZING!!!!!!! Be sure to get there right when it opens, or you’ll be dealing with a really long line.

Leave a Reply

