The fat photos

As I was reading my new issue of Weight Watchers magazine today, a sentence jumped out at me: “Then get rid of any poor photos….as well as any that bring up bad feelings (like a shot of you at an unflattering weight). Of course, keep a ‘before’ shot or two to serve as a dose of inspiration.”

Let’s just say, I vehemently disagree with tossing the fat photos.

Do I like looking at the photos of myself when I weighed 60 pounds more than I do now? No. Looking at my wedding photos makes me want to cry because I’d give anything to do it all over again in a smaller dress and, more importantly, with a lot more confidence.

But I loved my wedding day and I treasure my memories, so there is not one photo that will be going into the garbage, no matter how bad I look. As Gary Allan so (sexily!) sings, “Life ain’t always beautiful, but it’s a beautiful ride.”

My photos are concrete reminders of that beautiful ride and I’ll be keeping every single one.

How about you? Do the less-flattering photos still merit a spot in your scrapbooks, or do they go straight into the trash?

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The fat photos

  1. Betsie says:

    You looked beautiful on your wedding day. 🙂 I struggle with this; I hate being in pictures so I have very, very few of me with my kids/family – but in 50 years nobody’s going to be looking at the pictures judging the dark circles under my eyes or the fact that my roots hadn’t been touched up recently, they’re just going to be happy to have the photos. Definitely something I need to work on!

  2. marcylynn says:

    I’m sorry, but I find this absolutely ridiculous. Weight Watchers gives some of the worst advice, sometimes! No, I don’t like to look at myself as a “fat girl”, but let’s not discount the fact that we have good memories and good times at that weight, too. Being fat does not mean being 100% miserable all the time and wanting to completely block out that time in your life.

    I love looking at old vacation photos from my bigger stages, it reminds me of the fun I’ve had. And seeing photos of me 20, 50, 100 lbs larger just serves as a reminder of how far I’ve come and how proud of myself I am. I’m glad you’re doing the same!

  3. Valerie says:

    My mother in law un-tags herself in any “before” photo – even ones where she looks cute. I think that’s kind of vain.

  4. Cheryl says:

    I think this is kind of crazy advice. If I had done that, I would have gotten rid of my wedding photos too. I remember looking at some of them and thinking “I look fat in these.” Even though at the time I was not fat. I was maybe 135 pounds tops. Now I’m about 20 pounds heavier than that and following that same advice I would get rid of pictures with me and my newborn baby. Think of all the memories you would get rid of if you were disposing of pictures based on how you thought you looked. Now when I look at my wedding photos I think, “What was wrong with me? Why did I think I was fat?” Even though I’m not 100% happy with my weight now, I would never get rid of the photos of me with my baby girl.

  5. Sara says:

    I don’t think I would ever get rid of a photograph just because I was not at my ideal weight. The photographs are memories of how things use to be and if I was fat in that photo them so be it. I wouldn’t throw those memories away just because it wasn’t flattering!

  6. bessie palsule says:

    You looked BEAUTIFUL. It’s so sad that you think this way :~(

Leave a Reply

