The great outdoors

I spent this past weekend in northern Wisconsin at my parents’ cabin. The Northwoods is truly the epitome of “the great outdoors.” The air was so pure and fresh, with a beautiful pine aroma. I spent every spare minute outdoors, taking deep, refreshing breaths and soaking up some vitamin D.

There is no air-conditioning at their home, so I woke up each day to bright sunshine on my pillow and birds chirping in the background. It sounds annoying, but it was actually pretty fantastic.

When I got home, I realize that I spend far too much time in my air-conditioned family room. At any given moment, you might find me watching TV, checking my work e-mail on my company iPhone and reading blogs on my laptop. Multi-tasking, yes–but the tasks don’t reflect things I love. I firmly believe that you should be able to look at my schedule and know what I value, and my life hasn’t been that way in recent years.

What do I value? Family, friends, laughter, health, sunshine, new experiences, making memories. Since summer is slipping through our fingers, I decided to focus on the “sunshine” aspect of the list first and make a list of things I can do outside, rather than languishing on the sofa:

  • Train for my second 5K.
  • Take a long walk with Jon and the pups.
  • Go to the park and enjoy the swings. Bring a friend’s kid if I’m feeling too embarrassed to go alone.
  • Pack a picnic lunch and head to the local forest preserve.
  • Take a horse-back riding lesson.
  • Find a “movie in the park” night at a local park district.
  • Explore my neighborhood on a bike.
  • Find a community garage sale, park at one end of the neighborhood and walk to all of the sales.
  • Go mini-golfing.
  • Lie in the hammock with a great book.
  • Fill up the kiddie pool and splash around with the dogs.
  • Visit a botanic garden.
  • Plant flowers.
  • Run through the sprinkler (Yes, I’ve done this recently. No, I don’t have kids. Adults get hot too!).
  • Go to the drive-in theater. Switch cars with my parents for the evening so we can sit in the back of my dad’s pick-up.
  • Go to the local farmer’s market (and buy some fabulous cheese while there!).
  • Roller skate (this one is dangerous if you’re as klutzy as I am; I firmly believe people are born without wheels on their feet for a reason).
  • Volunteer to walk dogs at a local shelter.
  • Rent a paddle boat or canoe at a local pond (typically $5-$10).
  • Go fishing (catch and release!).

What would you add to this list? Does your daily schedule reflect your priorities, or are you, too, wasting far too many precious hours?

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The great outdoors

  1. Beth says:

    Great list! I think you’ve mentioned you’re from the northern ‘burbs, but my parents’ southwest suburban town has a citywide garage sale in September — http://www.bridgeview-il.gov/treasure_days_ship_on_the_horizon/ . The central area by my parents’ house is pretty giant — I’ve clocked about 2+ miles of walking just by exploring the blocks immediately around them. There’s also a dinky parade with a pirate float 😉

Leave a Reply

