Routine maintenance

My 31-year-old husband–or, as I like to refer to him, my college boy–is beginning his sophomore year of his second bachelor’s degree. He started class yesterday, leaving me with an abundance of free time to kill.

During the times I’m home, this leaves me about three options:

1. Sit on the couch and watch TV/waste time online.

2. Catch up on photo albums, try cooking new dishes, study for a certification, organize my closet, etc. (a productive hobby or task, in other words).

3. Work out.

All too often, I find myself doing the first item on that list. I’m tired after a busy day at work and a long commute, and I just want to crash. But I almost always regret spending my night that way. I’d feel so much better if I LIVED my evening, rather than simply passing the time.

With Jon starting a new semester, this is my chance to perform some work on my routine and make sure it’s working for me. I’d like to spend two of those days working out, one on hobbies and one doing whatever I feel like at the time–even if it IS watching Sex and the City reruns.

Tomorrow begins workout day 1. I’ll either be running for 30 minutes or doing Insanity, and I will report back here to hold myself accountable.

In the meantime, it’s time to get back to Sarah Jessica Parker and the gang! (Apparently I need to slooowly ease myself into this new routine.)

P.S. You’d think an obvious fourth item on the list would be walking my dogs or playing with them in the yard. Yes, that would be nice. But they tend to take ME for a walk, and I’ve never walked both together since one time a year ago, when they saw another dog, bolted and got loose. As for the yard? We have a toad infestation…seriously, they’re everywhere–and the dogs like to eat them. And then trip out on the froggy acid, a la Homer Simpson.

Image found here: http://dbkp.wordpress.com

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Routine maintenance

  1. Nota says:

    What about spending time teaching your dogs to walk on leash better? Work them one at a time, then together. There are a few different techniques that are pretty good for that – and frankly – they will never get better at it until you practice with them. It’s not about whether they can or can’t do that well, it’s about how long you want to own dogs that you won’t walk because you won’t teach them better manners.

  2. Kristen K says:

    That would probably be a good idea! 🙂 I need to teach one that she can’t stop to go to the bathroom 137 times per walk (this se and get the other one to stop lunging for dear life at other animals. (I wonder how I can convince someone to use their dog as a test subject!) Also, I just realized that it sounds like they never get walks, but they really do! My husband walks them during the week and we walk them together on weekends. My weekday contribution is endless games of fetch down our long entryway!

Leave a Reply

