Food for the soul

I’ve been a little obsessed with the scale lately, and I think it’s having a negative impact. So, this past weekend, I decided to focus on something beyond the numbers: my emotional well-being.

With busy days at work and lots to do at home, it’s so easy to forget to take meaningful time for ourselves (surfing Facebook does not count!). When was the last time you were alone with your thoughts? For me, I used to use my commute as my time to think and figure out who I was, what I wanted and how my life was going. Now, my drive is primarily taken up with phone calls–to catch up with my family, my friends and my husband (whom I see in person for about 15 minutes per day on weekdays), or to make appointments. Aside from the time I take to write in this blog, I spend very few moments on personal reflection.

To change that, I attended a workshop this weekend hosted by my former coworker and all-around awesome person June. She blogs over at The Wing Project and is a true example of how we should all strive to live–with a warm spirit, a sense of peace and a desire to help others. At the end of her workshop, she gave all of us a great gift: 10 minutes to sit alone in complete silence, focusing only on our breathing and a sense of well being.

Holy moly, was it relaxing. For the first few minutes, I couldn’t get my mind to shut the heck up. And then, suddenly, peace. Actually, it felt more like total awareness. I felt the cool breeze from the ceiling fan, the edges of the chair pressing back against my arms, the warm glow of the sun through the window, the steady rhythm of my breath….things I never, ever would have noticed before. I felt 100% in the moment and relaxed, and when the exercise was over, I felt so renewed.

I learned a lot from the workshop (your plan should never involve changing others; you can only change yourself and how you respond to others), but the best thing I learned is to take a few minutes each day to just BE. I highly encourage you to try it. Find a comfy chair, close your eyes, play some soft music if you’d like, and just let go. In doing so, you’ll get so much back.

June has a great exercise on her blog today that involves making a list of your accomplishments, to remind yourself of the great things you do. Too often, we focus on the negative even though there are so many great and positive things in our lives.

That’s my mission for this week–focus on the positive and the meaningful, and NOT on the pesky scale.

Image source: Original artwork by June Blunk, http://empoweredu.net/Artwork.aspx

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

