Hello, fall!

Okay, so it’s not technically fall until the third week of September. But Labor Day is the start of MY fall. It’s when I give myself permission to get my three boxes of fall decorations out of storage and put them up around the house, get to wear cozy sweaters, pull out my crockpot to make turkey chili, and finally enjoy (I use that term loosely) running again.

Toward the end of July, I wrote a post about seizing the summer and I definitely feel like I did just that. Here is one my favorite memories from summer 2011:

That post  listed 10 activities I wanted to do before fall began, and I ended up doing six of them:

1. Take a trip to my parents’ cabin in northern Wisconsin (scheduled for early August–can’t wait!)

2. Go to the Farmer’s Market and buy some fresh tomatoes and a great cheese.

3. Take the dogs for a walk in the forest preserve.

4. Ride a Ferris wheel at a local festival or downtown at Navy Pier.

5. Have a fire in the backyard.

6. Play softball with my family at the local park.

7. Go to the botanic gardens.

8. Go to our favorite local restaurant that overlooks a lake on a night when they have a live band (possible activity for our fifth anniversary next weekend!).

9. Go to a drive-in movie.

10. Go on a picnic.

I have four left to go, and I plan to accomplish three of them: taking the dogs to the forest preserve (we’ve just been doing neighborhood walks this summer), going to the botanic garden, and playing softball with my family at the park behind their house. In fact, I think all three of those things will actually be MORE fun in the fall, with the beautiful colors and the crisp, cool air.

And here are a few more things I want to add to my fall list of to-dos:

1. Go to the pumpkin farm (despite having no kids, Jon and I do this almost every year).

2. Go apple picking.

3. Take a good picture of Jon and me to replace the engagement pictures we took six years ago in fall.

4. Go to an air show with Jon (we’re taking care of this one next weekend!).

5. Host a 15-year reunion for my grade school class (tentatively scheduled for October).

6. Go to a corn maze.

7. Run at least one more 5K. And by this, I mean RUN the 5K. I’m scheduled to be in one on Sept. 18, but I’m fairly sure I won’t be able to run the whole thing. If I don’t, I’m forcing myself to sign up for another one this fall.

The three items carried over from my summer list make this an even 10.

Welcome, Fall! Please stay awhile. I am SO not ready for winter.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello, fall!

  1. What airshow are you going to? Janesville is next weekend and I think we might go. Maybe we can meet up at the airshow – let me know – it’s been too long since our Schaumburg lunch.

  2. Kristen K says:

    We are going to Wings Over Waukegan! Jon is very excited.

Leave a Reply

