My public pledge

I’ve made it abundantly clear that I’ve been struggling since I finished the weight loss contest in May. I weighed 216 that last day and I currently weigh 228.

Well, I’m sick of it. And I’m so mad at myself for squandering the incredible gift that I was given with the contest. Enough already.

So my pledge is this: I will weigh 199 pounds on New Year’s Day.

I have just over 15 weeks to lose 29 pounds. At nearly two pounds a week, it is a huge challenge for me, but I KNOW that I can do it. I know how thrilled I’ll be when I hit that magical “1” on the scale. I guarantee you I’ll cry and then I’ll probably proudly dance around the house. And finally, I will go shopping and buy up everything my limited funds will allow! So if I know how happy it will make me, why would I let some pasta and pizza derail me?

I won’t. I’m done. El fin (that’s about the extent of my Spanish these days).

So today is day 1.

Current weight: 228.8

Before pictures:

From the side:

Eek. It makes me sad to look at these pictures and see how much progress I’ve lost, but admitting I have a problem is step one and publicly declaring my intention to fix it is step two. And with that, I am on my way to one-derland!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My public pledge

  1. Rachel says:

    K- You are awesome. Thank you for sharing your heart and real, everyday frustrations with us. Battling with weight is truly an addiction. It’s hard, and ugly and I wish there was a magical answer for a cure. I love reading your blog. I relate to you in so many ways. Why do we let pizza and pasta derail us? It’s so NOT worth it in the end. Do you have any tips for jump starting weight loss. Maybe if you recall what helped you get going for us, it will help you too?

  2. Nota says:

    Some things I have done lately that has been helpful is embracing “the golden hour”, working a new portion control strategy, and pie-charting my plate. I read that carbs in the pasta/bread format are only really helpful to the body in the first hour after a heavy cardio workout. So when I start thinking about pasta or pizza for lunch or dinner, the answer is no unless it’s within that golden hour. I also will only put one piece of pizza on my plate at a time, and then make myself wait 5 minutes from finishing the first piece before I’m allowed to reach for a second. And every time I eat carbs, there needs to be more green on my plate than bread – per piece of pizza, per portion of pasta. I know it sounds like it’s a little harsh and sucky right off the bat – but now I don’t think about it too much as it’s getting to be habit. It also reminds me that *that* is how normal people – with a normal sense of portion control – eat. I need to accept that my brain struggles with the idea of portion control and probably always will, so some simple rules to give it a check & balance need to be in place for me.

Leave a Reply

