5K x2

Today was my much-dreaded 5K and I finished in last place. Sounds dismal, right? Actually it wasn’t so bad.

First of all, there were only 50ish runners, compared to the usual 250-500 in most local races. I’m not sure if the rain deterred people or if it wasn’t well advertised, but it was a small group.  Regardless, I am going to say I finished in the top 50 rather than I finished last. It’s all in the attitude, right? 🙂

I knew from the get-go that I’d be at the back of the pack. While many 5Ks are billed as walk/runs, this event had a separate walk afterward, so I had a feeling this would be mostly racers. When I saw how fit everyone looked, my new goal became “Just finish within 10 minutes of someone else.” The good news? I was only about 30 seconds behind the next to last runner.

I keep saying “I” because the slow place was all me–but my sweet husband ran with me and kept my pace, despite being a much faster runner than I am. I remember starting to feel like death at mile 2. It was like a war movie, where one soldier tells the other to save himself. Picture me in near tears, with my breath coming in gasps. “Just go! I’ll be fine. I’ll be right behind you, I promise!” I pleaded. “Maybe we can’t both make it, but you can! Do it for me!” It was our stretch goal of finishing in under 43 minutes. He stayed with me, despite my melodramatic begging, and we both finished in 43:46. Not TOO far off our mark, but I know I can do better if I just train. (What a concept.)

Shortly after begging him to save himself, I went from weepy to pissed at the fact that the finish line did not seem to be getting any closer. I kept looking for the third mile marker and it was nowhere to be found. Now, I am not someone who swears in everyday conversation, but I vividly remember shrieking, “Jon! Where the F*&K is mile three?!”

The good thing about being a slow runner? No one is near you to hear you lose it. 🙂

Aside from those few freakouts, the rain and the fact that I finished last, I actually enjoyed myself! (I enjoyed our pancake breakfast afterward even more, though.) This was my second 5K and I’ll be signing up for a third one that’s taking place Thanksgiving weekend. My big goal: to do five 5Ks before my 30th birthday next July and break into the 30s for at least one of them.

I secretly dream of doing the Disney Half, but I think that’s more because I want to go to Disney World and less because I want to put my body through torture for 13.1 miles.

Are there any other crazy out-of-shape people out there who want to go to Disney World–um, I mean run an insanely far distance (half of my interminable commute to work!)–with me in a year or so? We can do it!

 

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 5K x2

  1. Nota says:

    Good job! You may have come in #50, but you were well ahead of the lots and lots of people that didn’t even try! (And all the walkers.)

    I think those are some fabulous goals too – and a half-marathon is very possible if you discipline yourself with training for it. (Coming from someone who never thought she could do 1 mile and now has 5 half-mars under her belt.) I mean, if you didn’t, you could probably still finish one, but not the way you want to. To feel good about it, you’ll probably need a plan. You might consider checking out some of the local running stores in your area (do you have a Fleet Feet near you?) and seeing if they have a running group. It’s made a WORLD of difference to me, and my group has all kinds of paces – from Galloway 2:1 or 3:1 groups to elite runners. So, check into it and make some calls before you assume you’d be too slow to be in a group. My 2 running buddies that run @13/mm just up’d from training for a half to a full marathon this past Spring, which they’ll run in 3 weeks from now. You can absolutely do it!

    PS – I would totally do the Disney Half. My husband thinks I’m nuts about wanting to go to Disney.

  2. Kristen K says:

    Thank you for your encouragement! My training schedule begins in earnest this week–three days of Insanity and three days of running each week. I am looking forward to the results. I have been stagnating for far too long!

    Disney or bust! 🙂

  3. jena says:

    Congrats on your 5k! I think it’s totally awesome that you got out there and did the damn thing. As the commenter above me said, you beat all the people that didn’t even try; the ones that were too scared to come in last. 5ks are like crack, they are addicting – next time, you’ll break your 43 minute time goal !!

    I also agree that you should see if you can find a running group. Running groups are awesome. I run with a group on Saturday’s and they make my long runs so much more tolerable! The camraderie is great, and it’s nice to hang out w/ people that understand that running 10 miles on a saturday is normal, not crazy. Well, maybe a little crazy. 🙂

    I volunteered @ the Disney Princess Half in 2009 – We were out there cheering for 4 hours while finishers trickled across the finish line. You can totally do a half if you train for it. I wouldn’t recommend going into it unprepared. I’ve done that before, it was painful, and a huge hit to my self-esteem.

    Congrats again on your 5k success!

  4. Kristen K says:

    Thank you! I love the idea of volunteering at the Disney Half. Then I can get a sense of just exactly what I’m getting myself into!

  5. Sara says:

    Awesome job going out and conquering the 5k. It doesn’t matter if you were the slowest person at the race, you finished the race when you wanted to quit. That is a huge accomplishment. On another note — I have thought about doing a Disney Half. There are a few different ones now which is nice. I know I won’t be ready this winter (I think the races are held in January / February) but I think in 2013 I may be ready!

Leave a Reply

