Guest post: A lifestyle change

I’m excited–it’s my first guest post! This is from Rachel Jeter, a friend from high school, whom I’ve recently reconnected with, thanks to the magic of the Internet. Here is Rachel’s story:

Hi! I’m Rachel from The Faithful City Mouse Blog . I’ve talked about getting healthy and making some changes a little bit on my own blog, but really look for experience and inspiration on Kristen’s blog. I’m glad to be here today!

In the past several years I have subscribed to various health magazines and watched countless episodes of the Biggest Loser (usually while eating ice cream!) and hoping that some day I too could have an amazing transformation. But I never get motivated enough to actually do anything.

You see I’ve been overweight most of my life. I almost typed chubby, but that would imply something cute, and being this overweight is anything but cute, folks. It’s gotten to the point where I don’t like the way I fit or feel in my clothes and I just can’t bear to buy a size bigger. I’m the girl who even saves jeans from a smaller size because I just know that someday soon I will fit in them again. FYI- this has never happened.

Now that I am married and we hope to start a family soon, I want to get healthier and pass down a fit lifestyle to our future kids. I don’t want to be the mom that sits on the sidelines watching her kids play at the park; I want to be the mom that plays in the park too!

Recently my husband and I have been very aware of what we put into our bodies and where it has come from. We try to eat more organic and less processed. Replacing pop and sweet teas ( house wine of the south y’all!) with ice water, cut back on eating out, more eating in and we have made several meals from things fresh out of the garden! I can’t even begin to explain how satisfying that is!

We have also been taking our sweet little beagle Charlie to the city park and walking him around the lake. This is both good for him and us. Not to mention fun, spending time with your sweetie and maybe even a little hand holding 🙂 wink wink. I won’t lie, sometimes after said walk at the park we stop and get ice cream on the way home. What can I say? Old habits are hard to break.

 

Since the hubs works away during the week we are only together on the weekends. During the week we try and eat healthy and then we splurge on the weekend. Both of us love cooking, so it’s hard not to whip up something delish when we’re home together. We have created some really tasty dishes in the kitchen! Made with love of course! 🙂

I need to get out of the mindset that sweets are a reward and I deserve them. That after a long, heart pumping walk we should get some ice cream or if it’s a bad day a brownie will make it better. The sad news is that it does make me feel better, for maybe 5 minutes. Then later the guilt hits, the jeans get tighter and the self esteem hits the floor.

Why is it always such a battle? Do you look around at skinnier friends and family members and think what in the world? They can just eat whatever they feel like and never excercise!

Well I’m done with the pity party. It’s time to get serious. I’m focusing on the future and making these changes last. It’s a now or never, die hard situation. I’m worth it.

Thank you for having me today, Kristen. And thank you for inspiring me with your blogs and devotion. You have made incredible progress and I look forward to see what you can do next!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

