Weight loss contest, take 2

I’m so excited! This Friday, September 30, Rachel, Sara and I are going to start our very own weight loss contest.

Rachel asked me last week how I had lost weight earlier this year and what made it work this time. Aside from the whole free personal trainer thing, which was absolutely incredible, I have to say it was the humiliation factor. I knew, that no matter how much I gained or lost, it was going to be in the newspaper for all the world (or at least the Chicagoland area) to see. If I gained when the other contestants lost, it would have been mortifying. And I worked my butt off to make sure I did not post a gain in the entire 12 weeks.

There’s no way that another newspaper and personal training gym are going to call me up and offer their services, so Rachel’s e-mail inspired me to take matters into my own hands. She and I each have a blog, and so does my online weight loss buddy, Sara. If we were to do our OWN contest and post our results every single week, I’d be back in the same situation as the first contest–knowing that multiple people would be seeing my results each week, and being really embarrassed if my friends were both kicking butt, while I just collapsed on the couch.

Fortunately, they were both interested, and our contest begins in five days! We’re still ironing out all the details, but I can’t wait to get started! I was a little sad at the grocery store this weekend when I went to pick up a box of pasta and made myself put it back. My plan is to follow the Fittest Loser eating plan for the 12 weeks, except for one dinner each weekend. I’m scared just thinking about it–but also giddy at the idea of seeing real results again.

I am going to share my contest eating plan and exercise programs my trainer gave me so everyone has access to the same knowledge and I don’t have an unfair advantage from having lived this before (we do not have to follow the same diet or exercise programs, though). I’ll post the diet and my treadmill workouts here this coming week. I don’t remember my training workouts, other than that they involved a whole bunch of squats, push-ups and lunges.

Hmm, maybe I will call up my trainer and interview her for the blog! I can share some workout tips for the contest girls to follow, and for any of you who are interested. I miss Michelle!

Anyone have any ideas for contest names? My coworker suggested Lose to Win, which I liked. I also like the idea of doing it in 12-week phases, with the option to do a second phase in the new year. Lose to Win: Healthy for the Holidays is my favorite name so far, but I’m excited to hear ideas from Sara, Rachel and any of you!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Weight loss contest. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight loss contest, take 2

  1. Sara says:

    I am excited for this contest and the next three months. Thank you for inviting me to join you for this contest and this leg of your journey! We can all use inspiration and I am looking forward to learning from both you and Rachel. Also, I do like the name Lose to Win: Healthy for the Holidays for this first phase. The next 3 months are going to be hit with holidays that are always the hardest for people to maintain or lose weight during.

  2. Amanda says:

    Way to go ladies! Best of luck to all three of you, I hope you are all losers!

Leave a Reply

